Taco Stuffed Shells Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
This recipe was very good. I omitted the green onion and sour cream. I added grated cheddar cheese to the top on the last ten minutes of baking. Also, I may have lost my mind, but I couldn't find an oven temp anywhere on this recipe so I just went with 350.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
I made these tonight, with plenty of left overs...I really wanted to like this recipe, however it just lacked flavor, nothing special. If I make it again, I will add cumin to the meat, and maybe some black olives?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMYJ4KIDOS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Burlington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
This recipe was yummy. I think that if I were to make it again I would not bake it for 40 minutes. The shells were a little crispy. I guessed and put the oven at 350 since it was not noted on the recipe. Also I will put tomatoes on top next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
Burnt my mouth cause I couldnt wait to taste, smelled too good cooking! Perfect as is, I only added crushed tortilla chips for serving to give a little crunch to the bite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sunflower

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hamilton, New Jersey, USA
Photo by soapscrubs
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
Oh. My. God. So. Freaking. Good. I haven't tried a recipe on this site in quite awhile and...yeah, this totally exceeded my expectations. I cooked the onions in with the beef and etc instead of sprinkling them with the cheese...definitely used more salsa (I used HOT salsa so good!), and I baked it for half an hour at 350 and then put the cheese on and baked for another ten minutes. I think just half an hour would have sufficed though; the shells were a little bit over cooked. Didn't stop me from eating them though. I want to make more of these right away. Thank you Jennifer! EDIT: I made these a second time recently. The first time I used regular canned beans, as compared to the refried beans, because I couldn't find the refriend. I made them with the refried this time and I think I like with the beans better. And a tip for vegetarians: Omit the ground beef and use the refriend beans WITH canned red beans, or whatever your preference. =0)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by soapscrubs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2009
Nice offering for the weekend crowd. I made it ahead, added 1/4 cup water to the bottom so it would not stick and popped it in the oven until it bubbled. Easy to serve, as it has individual portions. I might leave the beans out next time, there were plenty of things in there already.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Concord, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
I have a different version. I warm the beans with a tab of butter that I sauteed onions in--add 1 cup of mex cheese. stuffed shells. Used the ground beef mixture with 2 cans drained chopped tomatoes with green chilies . used1/4 enchalada sauce on bottom of dish. add shells. pour beef mixture cover with lots of cheddar jack and more sauce. then...cover with lots of doritios. this is full of calories, carbs and fat, but is GREAT for an occasional treat. Makes enough for leftovers...which are even better!!!!!! Have fun with the flavors. it's hard to mess this up. chips add a nice crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dillsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
The family agreed this was a keeper, however next time I will not use quite so much salsa. My kids kept putting the extra meat filling on tortillas and eating it as a burito.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2010
Pretty good. The major change I made was to use enchilada sauce in place of the salsa. I also used my own seasonings instead of packaged taco seasoning and water mix. I somehow forgot to add the cheese to the meat and bean mixture so I just put it on top during the last 6 or 7 minutes.. Oh and total coking times for mine was only 25 minutes and they came out just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Aubrey, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
We served with tomatoes on top as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Oureatinghabits

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sure to Fool 'Em Vegan Stuffed Shells

What's cooking in Dana Point? Connie's "Sure to Fool 'Em" Stuffed Shells.

Cheesy Stuffed Shells

These shells are an easy weeknight dinner, and they’re fun to make, too.

Stuffed Shells III

See how to make a top-rated recipe for cheesy stuffed pasta shells.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States