Taco Stuffed Shells Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
I made these tonight, with plenty of left overs...I really wanted to like this recipe, however it just lacked flavor, nothing special. If I make it again, I will add cumin to the meat, and maybe some black olives?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMYJ4KIDOS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Burlington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
Burnt my mouth cause I couldnt wait to taste, smelled too good cooking! Perfect as is, I only added crushed tortilla chips for serving to give a little crunch to the bite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sunflower

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hamilton, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
The family agreed this was a keeper, however next time I will not use quite so much salsa. My kids kept putting the extra meat filling on tortillas and eating it as a burito.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
I have a different version. I warm the beans with a tab of butter that I sauteed onions in--add 1 cup of mex cheese. stuffed shells. Used the ground beef mixture with 2 cans drained chopped tomatoes with green chilies . used1/4 enchalada sauce on bottom of dish. add shells. pour beef mixture cover with lots of cheddar jack and more sauce. then...cover with lots of doritios. this is full of calories, carbs and fat, but is GREAT for an occasional treat. Makes enough for leftovers...which are even better!!!!!! Have fun with the flavors. it's hard to mess this up. chips add a nice crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dillsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lil Mermaid
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
Fun and yummy dinner! I used Enchilada sauce since that just sounded better to me instead of salsa. I had enough filling to make 22 shells and froze half of them. Try it with some cilantro on top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lil Mermaid

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mansfield, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Photo by Sharyn
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
I added taco seasoning to the ground beef/cream cheese mixture. It was a good move. I contemplated omitting the crushed tortilla chips (because I thought it sounded a little weird), but I forged ahead and used them - although I only put a dusting over each shell... I came no where close to using the entire cup-an-a-half. The shells were as fun to make as they were to eat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
I liked these alot! A nice twist on stuffed shells. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by REDHOTRS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fleetwood, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2010
Pretty good. The major change I made was to use enchilada sauce in place of the salsa. I also used my own seasonings instead of packaged taco seasoning and water mix. I somehow forgot to add the cheese to the meat and bean mixture so I just put it on top during the last 6 or 7 minutes.. Oh and total coking times for mine was only 25 minutes and they came out just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Aubrey, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
This was excellent - I added a can of diced green chilis to meat mixture. Also we like it hot so used a jar of Hot Salsa
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2010
This recipe was excellent! I loved it! So easy and so amazingly flavourful. The only change I made was to use refried beans that had green chiles in them too, just because I like my food spicy. I did end up with left over filling, so I froze with plans to use it on nachos some night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by prittykitty74

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 51-60 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sure to Fool 'Em Vegan Stuffed Shells

What's cooking in Dana Point? Connie's "Sure to Fool 'Em" Stuffed Shells.

Cheesy Stuffed Shells

These shells are an easy weeknight dinner, and they’re fun to make, too.

Stuffed Shells III

See how to make a top-rated recipe for cheesy stuffed pasta shells.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States