Taco Stuffed Shells Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2009
Nice offering for the weekend crowd. I made it ahead, added 1/4 cup water to the bottom so it would not stick and popped it in the oven until it bubbled. Easy to serve, as it has individual portions. I might leave the beans out next time, there were plenty of things in there already.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Concord, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
Very good recipe, I skipped the beans just because we didn't have any, next time I'll add them. I did add a bit of water and some diced jalapeno peppers, for an extra kick. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shantal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2009
These were awesome! I used homemade refried beans and salsa as I refuse to buy either due to the increase in price. Will be making these again! Family loved them. I did add some water in the baking pan to keep them from getting hard on the bottom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybuggs5224

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
This recipe was very good. I omitted the green onion and sour cream. I added grated cheddar cheese to the top on the last ten minutes of baking. Also, I may have lost my mind, but I couldn't find an oven temp anywhere on this recipe so I just went with 350.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
Wonderful! Easy to make and the ingredients are cheap. I left out the beans because my husband and I don't like them. I also added water to the pan before baking and added cheese to the top during the last 10 minutes of baking. Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaceyG

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
This recipe was yummy. I think that if I were to make it again I would not bake it for 40 minutes. The shells were a little crispy. I guessed and put the oven at 350 since it was not noted on the recipe. Also I will put tomatoes on top next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2009
Made this 2 days ago, and made 2 dishes, one to cook, other in the freezer. I cut the recipes in half as there's only 2 of us. /baked the one last night and must say, we loved it.. Very tasty as is.I did add more Taco sauce to the dish, prior to baking. Thanks Jennifer,will put this into my "keeper" file.. We really enjoyed this.Has a subtle mexican flavor, but also has a similar lasagna flavor..LOVED IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
We loved this! Often my family and I will choose a recipe to try, then as we eat, we critique the results and decide what we would change in the future. The biggest decision is always, "will we repeat this recipe?" This was a resounding yes for these stuffed shells. The only change made to the preparation was the use of a bit more salsa. 1/4 c. seemed too little for the bottom of the pan, so 1/2 c. was used. Also, 3/4 c. to top remaining shells seemed too little once it had been doled out. I found that I stopped measuring the salsa topping and just made sure that there was enough to cover each shell well so that the pasta did not become crunchy. Like other readers, I cooked this at 350 degrees for 30 minutes, then during the last 10 minutes covered it with shredded cheese before returning it to the oven. This dish was even better on day 2! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by William Bumphrey

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochelle, Illinois, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by soapscrubs
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
Oh. My. God. So. Freaking. Good. I haven't tried a recipe on this site in quite awhile and...yeah, this totally exceeded my expectations. I cooked the onions in with the beef and etc instead of sprinkling them with the cheese...definitely used more salsa (I used HOT salsa so good!), and I baked it for half an hour at 350 and then put the cheese on and baked for another ten minutes. I think just half an hour would have sufficed though; the shells were a little bit over cooked. Didn't stop me from eating them though. I want to make more of these right away. Thank you Jennifer! EDIT: I made these a second time recently. The first time I used regular canned beans, as compared to the refried beans, because I couldn't find the refriend. I made them with the refried this time and I think I like with the beans better. And a tip for vegetarians: Omit the ground beef and use the refriend beans WITH canned red beans, or whatever your preference. =0)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by soapscrubs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2009
Very good- my husband gives this 4 stars- I cooked 1/2 an onion with my meat- I don't use taco seasoning ever- too easy to use cumin, chile powder, garlic, salt and pepper- so water was not necessary- turned out excellent for me- served with "best spanish rice" and more beans. yum. used "pace".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wiser1

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Sure to Fool 'Em Vegan Stuffed Shells

What's cooking in Dana Point? Connie's "Sure to Fool 'Em" Stuffed Shells.

Cheesy Stuffed Shells

These shells are an easy weeknight dinner, and they’re fun to make, too.

Stuffed Shells III

See how to make a top-rated recipe for cheesy stuffed pasta shells.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States