Taco Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2005
This is really good with the addition of black beans and kidney beans. It is also a good one to make in the crock pot on low for 8 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
I used ground turkey and homemade taco seasoning in this recipe. After I browned the meat, I was able to throw all the ingredients in my West Bend Slow Cooker in the morning and let it go until lunch, which I appreciated. Simple and cheap, not bad for a quick lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2004
When I had my husband taste this he said it tasted like chili with a southwest kick. I subbed chopped pre-cooked meatballs for the ground beef (woohoo! the last of my big bag-o-meatballs!) and vegetarian baked beans plus salsa and Frank's red hot in place of the ranch beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZCANCOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
This was great and easy! I only made a few changes: ground turkey instead of beef (i think they taste the same) and i added a green pepper in with the onion. Also, i'm not sure what ranch beans are so i just used chili beans. yummm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2009
My family loved this. I stuck fairly close to the recipe - used chili beans instead of ranch-style beans...which may be the same thing (I'm not sure what ranch style beans are & couldn't find them in the store). Added 2 stalks of celery and some green pepper when I sauteed the ground beef, and I used frozen corn instead of canned. Excellent! Thanks, Smayo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2008
This was very easy and very cheap! I put tortilla chips in the bottom of the bowl before putting in the stew and then I topped it with avocado and cheese. Very good! I used the hot taco seasoning as well and thought it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2002
Every time I make this I have to bring some to my parents and my sisters! My 2 year old niece even eats it!! She loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2010
This was extremely good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by neevacandida

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
Very good as a base (which is why I didn't give it 5 stars). What's great about this is it allows you to add some of your favorite flavors. I usually add about 2 tablespoons of Worcestershire sauce when I'm browning the meat and onions. Also as I'm browning the meat, I mix the other ingredients and let simmer really mixes those flavors well before adding the meat. A few other changes I made are only 1 can of beans (I don't like beans) and added a can of condensed Tomato soup about 1/4 cup mild taco sauce and 1 tablespoon hot sauce (just enough to give a slight heat). But with this base you can be very creative and make it slightly different every time. Excellent dinner on a budget as well. Everyone had seconds (Family of 5)and we still had a lot for left-overs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rae
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
This was pretty good. I didn't have ranch style beans, thought I did but turned out I was wrong, so I used a can of pinto beans and a can of kidney beans. I added extra taco seasoning and left out the corn because corn in chili kind of freaks me out for some reason. Great quick meal. I'll probably use this recipe for chili dogs when I don't have time to do my regular chili. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Taco Soup II

A flavorful taco soup with ground beef, taco seasoning, beans, and green chiles.

Slow Cooker Taco Soup

See how to make a 5-star, beefy taco soup with beans.

Taco Salad I

See how to make a delicious taco salad with a twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States