Taco Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
I really like this recipe it is quick easy and a family pleaser especially if you have already made taco meat left over. When adding taco seasoning do it a little at a time because the corn and beans do take away some of the taco flavor- so more may be needed
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Mcgee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2010
This was extremely good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by neevacandida

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
Very delcious!!! I used one can of regular ranch style beans ans one can o ranch style beans with jalapeno's to add some kick! Very good mild recipe that even my kids loved!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
Good, but don't let the name fool you... it's just chili!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2009
My family loved this. I stuck fairly close to the recipe - used chili beans instead of ranch-style beans...which may be the same thing (I'm not sure what ranch style beans are & couldn't find them in the store). Added 2 stalks of celery and some green pepper when I sauteed the ground beef, and I used frozen corn instead of canned. Excellent! Thanks, Smayo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
Wonderful! Fast and hearty. Good all by itself or with cheese and sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Char2008

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
Very good as a base (which is why I didn't give it 5 stars). What's great about this is it allows you to add some of your favorite flavors. I usually add about 2 tablespoons of Worcestershire sauce when I'm browning the meat and onions. Also as I'm browning the meat, I mix the other ingredients and let simmer really mixes those flavors well before adding the meat. A few other changes I made are only 1 can of beans (I don't like beans) and added a can of condensed Tomato soup about 1/4 cup mild taco sauce and 1 tablespoon hot sauce (just enough to give a slight heat). But with this base you can be very creative and make it slightly different every time. Excellent dinner on a budget as well. Everyone had seconds (Family of 5)and we still had a lot for left-overs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2008
This was a great easy meal. I made substitutions based on what I had in my cupboard. I used one jar of hot salsa instead of the tomatoes with chile, 1 can drained kidney beans instead of ranch beans (don't know what those are!), and 1 lb ground beef. I got 6 decent servings out of this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathryn

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2008
This was very easy and very cheap! I put tortilla chips in the bottom of the bowl before putting in the stew and then I topped it with avocado and cheese. Very good! I used the hot taco seasoning as well and thought it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
I make this ALL THE TIME. I serve it over tortilla chips, and sprinkle cheese over the top. It is amazing! Sooo easy and good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Taco Soup II

A flavorful taco soup with ground beef, taco seasoning, beans, and green chiles.

Taco Casserole

This cheesy, family favorite is the perfect weeknight casserole.

Restaurant-Style Taco Meat Seasoning

Tastes just like a popular restaurant’s seasoning mix for beef tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States