Taco Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
I really like this recipe it is quick easy and a family pleaser especially if you have already made taco meat left over. When adding taco seasoning do it a little at a time because the corn and beans do take away some of the taco flavor- so more may be needed
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Mcgee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2010
This was extremely good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by neevacandida

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
Very delcious!!! I used one can of regular ranch style beans ans one can o ranch style beans with jalapeno's to add some kick! Very good mild recipe that even my kids loved!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
Good, but don't let the name fool you... it's just chili!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2009
My family loved this. I stuck fairly close to the recipe - used chili beans instead of ranch-style beans...which may be the same thing (I'm not sure what ranch style beans are & couldn't find them in the store). Added 2 stalks of celery and some green pepper when I sauteed the ground beef, and I used frozen corn instead of canned. Excellent! Thanks, Smayo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
Wonderful! Fast and hearty. Good all by itself or with cheese and sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Char2008

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
Very good as a base (which is why I didn't give it 5 stars). What's great about this is it allows you to add some of your favorite flavors. I usually add about 2 tablespoons of Worcestershire sauce when I'm browning the meat and onions. Also as I'm browning the meat, I mix the other ingredients and let simmer really mixes those flavors well before adding the meat. A few other changes I made are only 1 can of beans (I don't like beans) and added a can of condensed Tomato soup about 1/4 cup mild taco sauce and 1 tablespoon hot sauce (just enough to give a slight heat). But with this base you can be very creative and make it slightly different every time. Excellent dinner on a budget as well. Everyone had seconds (Family of 5)and we still had a lot for left-overs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2008
This was a great easy meal. I made substitutions based on what I had in my cupboard. I used one jar of hot salsa instead of the tomatoes with chile, 1 can drained kidney beans instead of ranch beans (don't know what those are!), and 1 lb ground beef. I got 6 decent servings out of this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathryn

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2008
This was very easy and very cheap! I put tortilla chips in the bottom of the bowl before putting in the stew and then I topped it with avocado and cheese. Very good! I used the hot taco seasoning as well and thought it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
I make this ALL THE TIME. I serve it over tortilla chips, and sprinkle cheese over the top. It is amazing! Sooo easy and good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Taco Soup II

A flavorful taco soup with ground beef, taco seasoning, beans, and green chiles.

Slow Cooker Taco Soup

See how to make a 5-star, beefy taco soup with beans.

Taco Salad I

See how to make a delicious taco salad with a twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States