Taco Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2012
I rate the recipies on how they were originally prited not on how they are after additions and changes. This recipe is very good! It leands its self to a varity of changes and additions to alter the taste to your own style.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
This was awesome! I did throw some green peppers in with the hamburger and onion and sauteed. I added about a 1/4 cup of beef broth to give it more broth. In place of the packet of Taco seasoning I used:Bill Echols Taco Seasoning. It really makes this recipe and you can adjust seasonings to your own taste. 1 tablespoon chili powder 1/4 teaspoon garlic powder 1/4 teaspoon onion powder 1/4 teaspoon crushed red pepper flakes 1/4 teaspoon dried oregano 1/2 teaspoon paprika 1 1/2 teaspoons ground cumin 1 teaspoon sea salt 1 teaspoon black pepper. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Trenton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
It was very good. We added shredded cheddar cheese and sour cream to the top. Then ate it with tortilla chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jackie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chittenango, New York, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2011
I love this! I made a few changes. I added 2 can of corn, 1 can of Rotel tomatoes, 1 can of Mexican stewed tomatoes, and 2 packages of taco seasoning mix. My family loves this(even my husband-who does not care for soup). Very easy to make and very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
In Texas we call this chili, but "Taco Stew" is okay! Too many canned goods involved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: New Braunfels, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
I've made this recipe for years but usually double it for when we have company and I just let it go in the crock pot (after browning the meat of course) on low. It's great served over corn chips. I always set out shredded cheese, sour cream, fresh diced tomato and avocado slices so people can garnish as they like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyV

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
This recipe was delicious! We added shredded cheese and Fritos on top for a little added flavor and texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
Delicious and easy! The only thing I added was one packet of Ranch Dressing mix, and I omitted the can of peeled and diced tomatoe. Will definitely make this again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by karin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Living In: Apple Valley, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
This was great and easy! I only made a few changes: ground turkey instead of beef (i think they taste the same) and i added a green pepper in with the onion. Also, i'm not sure what ranch beans are so i just used chili beans. yummm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Photo by Rae
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
This was pretty good. I didn't have ranch style beans, thought I did but turned out I was wrong, so I used a can of pinto beans and a can of kidney beans. I added extra taco seasoning and left out the corn because corn in chili kind of freaks me out for some reason. Great quick meal. I'll probably use this recipe for chili dogs when I don't have time to do my regular chili. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Taco Soup II

A flavorful taco soup with ground beef, taco seasoning, beans, and green chiles.

Taco Casserole

This cheesy, family favorite is the perfect weeknight casserole.

Restaurant-Style Taco Meat Seasoning

Tastes just like a popular restaurant’s seasoning mix for beef tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States