Taco Soup VII Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
This was pretty tasty, but I think the title was a bit misleading. When I think "Taco" anything, I pretty much think chili powder must be there, and this recipe didn't have any. It seems like a recipe mixup maybe: the title is "Taco Soup", but the ingredient list has "dry onion soup mix", but the directions mention "taco seasoning" instead of the soup mix. As is, this is kind of a nice beef/vegetable stew (thicker than a soup, I think). I made it almost exactly as written, using 85% ground beef, a slightly larger can of corn (15.25 oz.), and for the onion soup mix I used another recipe from this site that is supposed to be equivalent to one package of it. This was pretty filling and tasty, but I bet it'd be even nicer if I'd used taco seasoning instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
I wish there was a way to contact the person who submitted this recipe and find out if it is supposed to be dry onion soup mix, or taco seasoning. Having said that... I put 7 Tbsp taco seasoning in (I was slowly trying to add it to see how much I needed, and it ended up being quite a bit), and then approx 1/2 tsp onion powder. This is a VERY thick soup... almost like a chili-soup. Good with shredded cheese and nacho chips, or poured over a baked potato. Considering how easy this soup was, and how very little ingredients were required, it really is good. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
This was pretty good and best of all super quick to make on a busy weekday. It was also very filling. I used 1 lb of 93% lean beef (no draining neccessary), pinto beans, and an equal amount of frozen defrosted corn. I also accidentally opened a can of diced tomatoes with basil, garlic, and oregano, so I just used it. The directions say add taco seasoning but I didn't see it in the ingredient list, so I just stuck to the ingredient list and used only the dry onion soup mix. I also only simmered for about 20-25 minutes so the ingredients didn't turn to mush. When done we topped with cheese. I probably only rated it a 4 because of the sodium which I try to watch, and it uses all canned ingredients. But, the recipe seems adaptable to changes. And, if making again I would double the recipe because it only makes about 5 servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
Made this tonight and it was very yummy ! Great alternative to regular tacos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
This Taco Soup was SUPER easy and just as good as the more complicated Taco Soups I've had. The instructions say Taco Seasoning and don't mention the Onion soup mix in the ingredients, so I used the Taco Seasoning. We eat Taco Soup with some grated cheese, sour cream and Fritos scoops. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2006
This was good, but needed to be served with chips or actually put in taco shells. Without the chips seemed like something was missing. My husband and I make tacos often, and thought this was a good alternative to "beef up" plain old tacos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Punxsutawney, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2005
I really liked this recipe. It was simple, but really good. I made it for a party and everyone loved it. My husband told me it needed to be a regular in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Thibodaux, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2001
This was a really simple dish that turned out great. I used one can of chopped tomatoes and one can tomato sauce (I think that's what the recipe wants to say). I added taco seasoning instead of the onion soup mix. In the end, I didn't find it quite spicy enough so I just added a ton of garlic and chilli and VOILA - I made some delicious chilli, quite by accident! The corn tastes really great in this. I used less meat. Quick and easy and would be great to make in huge batches for potlucks..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Taco Soup II

A flavorful taco soup with ground beef, taco seasoning, beans, and green chiles.

Slow Cooker Taco Soup

See how to make a 5-star, beefy taco soup with beans.

Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup

Making this chicken taco soup is a snap in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States