Taco Soup VI Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2000
I thought this receipe was very good, quick and easy. A couple of modifications that I made was using diced tomatos with chilies for a little extra spice. I also used tomato sauce instead of juice and it worked just fine. I added a little chili powder and paprika for good measure and it turned out wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2007
This taco soup is delicious. I didn't have the vegetable juice cocktail on hand so I used tomato sauce instead. Also I didn't add the full amount of taco seasoning as I like my soup on the milder side. My husband loved it and added some pequin peppers to his as we live in Texas and they grow in our backyard. Will definatly make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peggy Ann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Laredo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2007
Outstanding and so easy! I use just one package of seasoning as we didn't like it quite so spicy. My suggestion would be to add one packet of taco seasoning and then taste it. ETA: This is a regular at our house and it is great with chicken too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
Really enjoyed this recipe, I will use 2 cans of black beans next time though and probably add a little taco sauce to make it taste more like taco soup than chili.Also added 1/2 onion to the pot and let it simmer for about a 1/2 hr.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wyalusing, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Laceyville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
This is very similar to a version of Taco Soup that I make quite often. I usually substitute one 15 ounce can of Mexican stewed tomatoes for the larger can of crushed tomatoes, and use only one packet of taco seasoning. This is excellent garnished with tortilla chips, sour cream, cheese, and green onion!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2006
Excellent tasting and healthy, too! I usually add is a tablespoon (or less) brown sugar -- seems to take away a bit of the spiciness and my kids love it. Our favorite way to eat this is with corn chips and fat free sour cream on top - yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Mooresville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
So easy and good! I didn't have the cocktail juice, so I just left the juices from the beans, corn and tomatoes suffice. It is still good! And, I don't use 2 packets of seasoning. Just one packet since my family likes it better that way. I do too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
Delish, quick, and satisfying! I made this for my boyrfiend, roomate, and her boyfriend, and we still had tons of leftovers-- which were also really good! We crunched up some tortilla chips on top, and if I had sour cream and cheddar on hand, would have added those as well. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wakefield, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Reading, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
I have made this recipe several times. We like things on the spicy side, so I have added cayenne pepper and jalepenos as well. I have made this in my slow cooker and prefer to let the flavors mix for longer than just to heat. The loftovers are just as good (if not better) the second day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
I only use 1 packet of taco seasoning and I also add a packet of ranch dressing mix. This soup is super yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by paswifelaura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cochran, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Taco Soup II

A flavorful taco soup with ground beef, taco seasoning, beans, and green chiles.

Slow Cooker Taco Soup

See how to make a 5-star, beefy taco soup with beans.

Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup

Making this chicken taco soup is a snap in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States