Taco Soup IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2006
This is a great basic taco soup recipe! To lengthen how far this goes add an extra can of tomatoe sauce, another cup of water, omit 1 pound of ground beef, add 1-2 more cans of rinsed, drained beans and more taco seasoning to taste.I also never use corn and sub in-you guessed it-more beans! I typically use these 3 beans in one batch- red kidney beans, garbanzo beans and black beans. But ANY bean will work here! Kick the flavor up by adding a small well drained can of diced green chilis and chopped olives. Put a dollop of sour cream and small handful shredded chedder in each bowl just before serving. Don't forget the hot sauce on the side for heat lovers! Thanks Patricia for such a fun, versatile recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Ohio, USA
Living In: Redding, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2006
The only reason I didn't rate this recipe higher is because I don't think you can really call it "soup." I followed the recipe exactly. It's fast and easy and it tastes very good, but it's a very thick consistency, almost like a chili or a dip. You could probably even use it in taco shells or soft tortillas as a filler. We topped it with sour cream, green onions, and cheese & served with tortilla chips. It does freeze well, and I will make it again. It just wasn't exactly what I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2009
Great recipe, used Ranch style beans instead of plain pinto beans. Added more tomatoes. Simmered a bit longer and added 8 cups of water to make it more soup like. Served with sour cream and fritos. Awesome leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by theinnerlight

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2007
This is wonderful and is now one of my family's favorites! I gave it 4 stars because I had to add more tomato sauce and water (one 15 oz. can of each).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LuvnMitch

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rison, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2006
This is the perfect taco soup -- nice and thick, and no kidney beans (I cant stand them!). I didnt like to use as much corn as called for, personal preference, and I also added garlic & my own spices as other reviewers had said.... I like my Mexican food with a nice heat, so I loaded in the cayenne and chili powder, cumin, red pepper flakes, etc. Leftovers are fantastic as well! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2006
This is a good recipe when you are tired of the regular tacos. It's also a good busy weeknight meal when you don't have a lot of time to spend on dinner. I found that this is more like a chili than a soup, and I added about 1.5 cups of chicken broth I had to use up and a can of water to thin it out some more. Even with all that extra liquid, it was still pretty thick. I also added about 2 cloves of chopped garlic, and extra chili powder and cumin, since one taco packet will flavor only 1 lb. of ground beef. I served this by breaking some tortilla chips in the bottom of the bowls, adding the soup and topping with shredded cheese and sour cream. Everyone enjoyed this, and I will make it again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hatboro, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
Loved...my only changes were no tomato puree, a little more water, & some spices. Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
I always add the taco seasoning to the ground round just after it has browned.. makes a diff. somehow. Also add a chopped green or yellow bell pepper. Carrots would be good too, as a poster mentioned below.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
Very good and quick. I made a few of changes. I used black beans instead of pintos and used more tomato sauce instead of tomato puree( kids don't like tomatoes), I also left out the onion and used onion powder. I also think next time I will add a little more taco seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
A huge hit with the family. Added extra taco seasoning, beans and also added diced tomato's. Will be making this more this winter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bugsgriffin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Linden, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Taco Soup II

A flavorful taco soup with ground beef, taco seasoning, beans, and green chiles.

Slow Cooker Taco Soup

See how to make a 5-star, beefy taco soup with beans.

Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup

Making this chicken taco soup is a snap in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States