Taco Soup III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2015
It was very easy, I added more taco seasoning the flavor is great but I think next time I'll try chicken fajita instead. The ground meat was a little chewy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
A few changes make this a really good soup. Reduce ground beef to 1 lb, substitute black beans for kidney beans and corn for hominy. I also leave out the ranch mix and make my own taco seasoning (way less salt). In addition, I don't drain any of the ingredients. Topped with shredded Mexican cheese & tortilla chips, it makes a great soup on a cold winter evening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
Great recipe and as others have said you can add any type of beans you have on hand. I have also made with precooked chicken instead of ground beef. I used the taco seasoning recipe instead of packaged to cut down on salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KBNTN

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
Been making this for years now. Everyone loves it and it's so easy! You can even throw it into the crockpot after you brown the meat and it turns out great. I serve it with tortilla chips and use chicken broth instead of water. It's easy to double the recipe to make more for bigger crowds. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
I tried this last night and it was a HIT with my Husband. I forgot to use onion and I used chili beans instead of kidney beans because that was all I had on hand.I also replaced the hominy with a can of whole kernel corn and I used 2 cups of water. It was delicious!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
I really liked the ranch dressing mix. I had never tried that before. We had this over crushed tortilla chip and cheese with a little garnish of sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
This recipe turned out to be great. My entire family enjoyed it and I have some very picky eaters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shawn buford
Home Town: Del City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Bethany, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
Really Good!! We all enjoyed this. This was easy to make. I did mine in the crock pot. I also used corn instead of the hominy, and used beef broth instead of the water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
I describe this recipe as " love at first taste!" I haven't had this soup in years. Maybe because it is expensive to make, but worth every penny. I doubled the ingredients to make sure I had leftovers. Along with the red kidney beans, I added canned pinto beans and black beans. I didn't care for the taste of the hominy. Therefore, I added two cans of corn. To please a spicy palate, I recommend the fiesta ranch powder mix along with the regular ranch mix. I also topped each serving bowl with green onions or scallions and chili cheese flavored Frito corn chips, along with the sour cream and cheese. "YUMmmm...!" ( In the words of my children)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
I made a double batch of this recipe. One was spicy, one was not. The flavors of this recipe blend really nice together. Not one overpowering the other, just a nice blend. Some chose to add the optional cheese and sour cream, others did not. Whichever way people chose to eat this, they really enjoyed it. I froze the leftovers and they reheated nicely on the stovetop. A very good recipe that I would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Taco Soup II

A flavorful taco soup with ground beef, taco seasoning, beans, and green chiles.

Slow Cooker Taco Soup

See how to make a 5-star, beefy taco soup with beans.

Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup

Making this chicken taco soup is a snap in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States