Taco Soup III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2005
I have a recipe that is very similar to this one...the great thing is, you can add just about any kind or amount of beans to it, and it's still great! If you are "stretching" this for a larger crowd, I add mexican corn, black beans and ranch beans to this, and for an extra kick, Hidden Valley has a Mexican Ranch Dip mix as opposed to the original mix. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMRYDENK

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
Sooo good and so easy! I just browned the beef, threw everything in the crockpot for about 5 hours on Low. Turned out perfect! I used canned corn, not hominy. I garnished with cilantro and sour cream...yum! I also threw a jar of mild salsa in the crockpot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2002
I replaced the hominy with corn. My husband loves spicy food so I also added two chopped jalapenos. It was wonderful, even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2004
This is an absolute must have recipe. Although the name is "Taco Soup III" it's really more like a chili. Very high in fiber! The standard recipe is for 6 servings, but this made a HUGE batch-more 8 servings. This will become a staple in our household!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PIETOGO
Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2008
excellent! great on a cold, rainy day. used beer in place of the water and it was a nice addition. great in the slow cooker. freezes well too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOBBES7895

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2004
This is an awesome recipe. I've been making it for a long time. A friend gave me the recipe. I use different kinds of beans sometimes, such as pintos. My family loves this poured over a bowl of corn chips and topped with cheese and sour cream. You can't go wrong with this easy soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2001
I used shoepeg corn instead of hominy. Tastes even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2012
The best ever. Oh my this is delicious! It has a good deal of kick to it without being overly spicy. I only had a third of a Texas sweet onion left and used frozen corn instead of hominy. I added an half can of tomato soup that was in my refrigerator and a can of beef consomme when it needed additional liquid. I used "famous taco seasoning mix" found here, and a half tsp of cocoa powder and a pinch of oregano. You definitely want to add the sour cream and the cheese as it mellows the heat and finishes the dish. Sliced avocado would have been all I needed to make it better. I topped this with some crispy tortilla chips, YUM!.Thanks, I will be making this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
I did mexican style corn instead of hominy and didn't add the ranch, this was very good I also added oreagno garlic flavored tomatoes. I will make this again it's a great winter meal
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
Fantastic! I added a can of beer, an extra 1/2 packet of taco seasoning and a can of corn! Served with cilantro, sour cream, avocado, and cheese to put on top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tess

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Jackson, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Taco Soup II

A flavorful taco soup with ground beef, taco seasoning, beans, and green chiles.

Slow Cooker Taco Soup

See how to make a 5-star, beefy taco soup with beans.

Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup

Making this chicken taco soup is a snap in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States