Taco Soup III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
Delicious. I got this recipe years ago at a WW meeting. They added a can of Navy beans and 2 cups of water instead of 1 1/2. I suggest you NOT skip the hominy since it is what makes it taste more like a real taco. I'd also say, always make extra!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by saycindy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
I use corn also and 1 Ro-Tel Diced tomatoes with habenero peppers and 1 Ro-Tel Diced tomatoes for chili instead of the regular diced tomatoes and chilis. I replaced the water with tomato juice. Spicy but completely wonderful!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathi Mitchell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: French Lick, Indiana, USA
Living In: Saint Charles, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2009
I also used corn vs. hominy. The soup is really good and the kid loved it. My only complaint was it is a little salty - which I love salt, so that's saying something. Next time I will use only 1/2 packet of ranch dressing mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2009
Like others i used corn instead of hominy. the soup is great to make for a cold rainy day. My family loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Almeda

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
I substituted fresh corn for the hominy. I also cooked in the crockpot and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2009
Great flavor! I didn't use the hominy as my kids don't care for it (weirdos!) but otherwise followed the directions. This will definitely be added to my rotation. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bbqgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
I also use corn instead of hominy and my family loves it! I make it often. It's fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eureka Springs, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2009
I love this soup! My roomie and I make this all the time. It makes a ton of food and we eat on it for several days. It's perfect for the winter. I always use corn, though, instead of hominy, and also add black beans. It's extremely easy to make and it's my all-time favorite easy meal. I think I will make it tonight, even though it's summertime!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CapitolCowgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2009
This recipe is WONDERFUL!! I usually put in cream-style corn instead of hominy though!! Adding sour cream and cilantro and eating it with corn chips puts it WAY over the top!! =o]
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dirtqueen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palmer, Alaska, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
This turned out well. I went right by the recipe, except I reduced the ground beef to 1 lb. I browned the beef w/ onion and then put everything in my crockpot. It cooked on Low pretty much all day. It was pretty good the first night, but tasted a little acidic. The next night, I had leftovers and it tasted much better. After three nights, we reheated it in a pan on the stove for about 30 min. It was even better! The next time I made it, I tweaked the recipe a little, and it was a BIG improvement. I used 2 cans of diced, fire-roasted tomatoes with garlic and one 4 oz. can of chopped green chiles. The only ranch mix I could find was .4 oz. pack of buttermilk recipe. This tasted sooo much better than the first batch I made. Both times, I used Old El Paso low sodium taco seasoning packet. We served with cheese, sour cream, and Frank's Red Hot sauce to taste. Served with "Scoop" tortilla chips. Very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Taco Soup II

A flavorful taco soup with ground beef, taco seasoning, beans, and green chiles.

Slow Cooker Taco Soup

See how to make a 5-star, beefy taco soup with beans.

Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup

Making this chicken taco soup is a snap in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States