Taco Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
It doesn't look like the picture so I added a large can of spicy V-8 juice and now it looks more like tortilla soup. First attempt but I'm sure I'll try it again. Definitely needs more tomato like liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
good base, easily customizable with what you want. subbed in corn for the kidney beans, added a total of 3 cups of water, as it didn't have much liquid to it. added fresh cilantro. could have added more taco seasoning, next time. thanks for a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by scottjl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2012
Excellent (with corn, I despise hominy)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2012
Not bad. I had some extra green peppers I needed to use so I threw them in there too and it turned out pretty good. I am not a huge taco fan but I still liked it. I added an extra envelope of taco seasoning mix because my husband like more intense flavors, and this was a little to bland for him. He also added hot sauce to his bowl(s) and raved about it. Thought I thought it was good I felt like it was missing something....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikki  Boyce

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shelbyville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Golden, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2012
This is an easy and delicious recipe. You can really add anything you want to make it your own. I added cilatro, green onions, and black olives. I also substituted the lima beans for black beans and the hominy for sweet corn. Use hot and spicy taco seasoning mix to give it just a little kick! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
I didn't have green chiles so I used two 10 oz cans of Rotel diced tomatoes with green chiles otherwise I stuck to the recipe. The only objection that I had is that a full package of taco seasoning creates to much spice for the kiddies. Great reciped, however.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roger

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Lee's Summit, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
This was so amazing! I browned the beef and the onions as instructed, but I let the soup simmer in the slow cooker for a few hours on low just for my own convenience. It was too delicious for my waistline!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Ott

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lake Charles, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
I really don't like all those beans. I'd leave the beans out and the ranch dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
This is an excellent recipe, but with changes. I followed the advice of several people and tried to go as natural as possible. I added a finely chopped stalk of celery, a fresh finely chopped jalapeno pepper, changed the water to low salt chicken broth, and used corn instead of hominy. I omitted the lima beans as I do not like the flavor of canned limas. I did add the ranch dressing mix and made my own chili taco seasoning. I did add the pinto and chili beans, the stewed tomatoes, Mexican style and did chop an onion. I did not need to add all the 1 tsp of salt, so if you make the soup, wait until you have mixed everything together to determine how much salt you need. I also added about a half cup of Mexican beer to add more liquid and more depth of flavor to the soup. I covered the pot so the liquid would remain and the soup would resemble soup and not chili. Love this recipe and will be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kirsten Parris

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
To all who are concerned about the sodium content, use homemade no salt taco seasoning, low sodium black beans rinced, low sodium tomatoes, and no salt. Buy low sodiun veggies and if you can't find any (Walmart sells a lot of low sodium veggies) rince them, that will lower the sodium content.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 155) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Taco Soup II

A flavorful taco soup with ground beef, taco seasoning, beans, and green chiles.

Slow Cooker Taco Soup

See how to make a 5-star, beefy taco soup with beans.

Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup

Making this chicken taco soup is a snap in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States