Taco Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
This is one of my favorite recipes. I do it with turkey for a lighter meal. If you do only half a cup of water it makes a great taco filing or nacho topping too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2012
i had to add in 4 cups of water total not 1 1/2 and i kept the extra salt out on the next batch and used low sodium taco mix... the original is very salty and almost like thick chili...my spoon stood up straight. once i changed some things very good and easy. i let cook on high for at least 2 hrs. my 7 yr old loves it too. requested it agian tonight! oh.. i also added in bell pepper and sub'd the hominy for corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fallon25

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
This was really a a good dish! It was kind of mild and could of been spiced up with a few jalapinoes, but I have to give it 3 & 1/2 stars. This is a keeper and can be modified to become a family fave. I put some bacon and a dolop of sour cream on top to give it some jazz. The girls at work loved the left overs the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Papa Joe

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Castle Rock, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
This soup is awesome! I made it for the first time yesterday and even my onion and bean hating 10 year old LOVED it! The only change I made to the recipe was to leave out the lima beans. I will most definitely be making this again very soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
It doesn't look like the picture so I added a large can of spicy V-8 juice and now it looks more like tortilla soup. First attempt but I'm sure I'll try it again. Definitely needs more tomato like liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
good base, easily customizable with what you want. subbed in corn for the kidney beans, added a total of 3 cups of water, as it didn't have much liquid to it. added fresh cilantro. could have added more taco seasoning, next time. thanks for a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by scottjl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2012
Excellent (with corn, I despise hominy)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2012
Not bad. I had some extra green peppers I needed to use so I threw them in there too and it turned out pretty good. I am not a huge taco fan but I still liked it. I added an extra envelope of taco seasoning mix because my husband like more intense flavors, and this was a little to bland for him. He also added hot sauce to his bowl(s) and raved about it. Thought I thought it was good I felt like it was missing something....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by POOT72

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shelbyville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Jerseyville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2012
This is an easy and delicious recipe. You can really add anything you want to make it your own. I added cilatro, green onions, and black olives. I also substituted the lima beans for black beans and the hominy for sweet corn. Use hot and spicy taco seasoning mix to give it just a little kick! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
I didn't have green chiles so I used two 10 oz cans of Rotel diced tomatoes with green chiles otherwise I stuck to the recipe. The only objection that I had is that a full package of taco seasoning creates to much spice for the kiddies. Great reciped, however.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roger

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Lee's Summit, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Taco Soup II

A flavorful taco soup with ground beef, taco seasoning, beans, and green chiles.

Slow Cooker Taco Soup

See how to make a 5-star, beefy taco soup with beans.

Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup

Making this chicken taco soup is a snap in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States