Taco Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
WAY too much salt, almost to the point of being inedible. Wish I would have read the other reviews that said that before I made it. Only changes I made were to add some Cumin and lime juice, corn instead of hominy, and black beans in place of the limas ( I don't like them). I tried to add some sour cream to tone down the saltiness, but it didn't help much. If there is a next time, I'll leave out the extra salt altogether.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Menifee, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2014
As this was cooking, I thought that it smelled like it might taste bland . . . HOW WRONG I WAS! This is delicious made exactly as described in the recipe. I make my own dry ranch dressing mix and used 3 tablespoons of that for the package that it called for. It was fantastic!! I will be making this one again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MALAWIMOM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2014
We LOVED it! With the taco and ranch seasoning packages, it doesn't need more salt - plus I added 5 beef bouillon cubes for extra flavor. Will take this to work next time there's a pot luck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sun City, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Haydensmama
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
This was really good. I used 2 14.5 oz cans of low sodium chicken broth instead of water and low sodium taco seasoning. I added corn and used a rotisserie chicken instead of beef. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
I thought it was good, but I had to add 5 cups of water, not the 1 1/2 that the recipe called for. Plus I added about half tsp of cayenne pepper to give it more kick. My husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
Absolutely amazing! I used black beans only and I used Mexican corn instead of hominy. I also used 1 can of Rotelle tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
Too salty for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
Used Rotel tomatoes instead of diced green chilie. Also used Mexicorn and made his entirely with ground turkey for less fat content. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2013
I tried the recipe with all of the same seasonings, but left out the hominy and replaced the lima beans with pinto. I thought it tasted good, but I didn't notice a big difference from chili recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2013
This is good topped with mexican style shredded cheese and tortilla strips. Has a good flavor. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 155) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Taco Soup II

A flavorful taco soup with ground beef, taco seasoning, beans, and green chiles.

Slow Cooker Taco Soup

See how to make a 5-star, beefy taco soup with beans.

Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup

Making this chicken taco soup is a snap in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States