Taco Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 10, 2015
I really enjoyed this recipe as well did my husband. I added a little bit of chili powder and 2 cloves of garlic to add a little bit of flavor to it. I also took out the hominy and added a can of white kidney beans. To eliminate some calories, I didn't add the cheese, and I thought it was very tasty without. Very easy to make for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2015
My teenagers made this for dinner one night last week, and we all enjoyed it. They made a couple of changes: rather than the green chiles and the stewed tomatoes, they used Rotel tomatoes, and they subbed black beans for the lima beans. They served avocado, sour cream, jack cheese and tortilla chips on the side. This was a quick, easy dinner, and perfect for teens learning to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
This recipe was a hit with my family. I added another can of kidney beans in place of the lima beans and corn in place of the hominy and added a small can of sliced black olives. And it was Amazing! I will be making this again its perfect on the cold winter night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
This is SOoooo yummy AND easy. Next time I will try changing it up with diced chicken, chicken broth, diced potatoes and chunks of Avocado to garnish. A great basic recipe that can be easily modified. A dollop of sour cream OR plain greek yogurt to gild the lilly : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
I absolutely love taco soup and this recipe just makes my old recipe taste 100% better. I didn't have Lima beans or pinto beans so I used kidney and black beans. I usually ground the beef and onion in a non stick skillet and while that is cooking, I combine the rest of the ingredients in a 5 qt. pot (I double the recipe). When the beef is done, I add it to the bean mixture and let it simmer 35-40 minutes. That's just how and do it and my parents (and sibilings) love it. We ALWAYS top it with sour cream, cheddar cheese, and tortilla chips. Thanks for the wonderful recipe, Julie ~ML2001
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by musiclover20011

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lewiston, Idaho, USA
Living In: Greenleaf, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
It tasted great. I only used 1 1/2 lbs hamburger and I used northern beans and pintos. I used Mexican corn also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
I thought the soup had too much stuff and not enough brothiness. I added stock and used ground turkey cause I don't eat beef. The spice needed a kick up too. I added Mexican chili powder and some extra heat to make it more taco tasting. It was too bland...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gwendyh

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Boulder, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
I made quite a few changes because I recently went vegetarian. I used the meatball recipe from I think it was Vegetarian Sweet and Sour Meatballs and replaced the beef. It turned out beautiful even my omnivorous family was surprised!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
This has really good flavor. I found that the recipe as written doesn't produce much of a broth. I added a second can of tomatoes and used about 2 1/4 c. water and it still came out more like a chili than a soup. However, it is easy, hearty and delicious. I was attracted to this recipe because of the unusual bean and hominy mixture. While I put all the ingredients in as written, it is the kind of recipe that you can easily modify it based upon what you like and what is on hand. Some other reviewers have mentioned the salt content and it's true that if you are on a low sodium diet this is not for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
This was just okay. Tastes just like chili just soupier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jadecat

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 155) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Taco Soup II

A flavorful taco soup with ground beef, taco seasoning, beans, and green chiles.

Slow Cooker Taco Soup

See how to make a 5-star, beefy taco soup with beans.

Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup

Making this chicken taco soup is a snap in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States