Taco Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
This has really good flavor. I found that the recipe as written doesn't produce much of a broth. I added a second can of tomatoes and used about 2 1/4 c. water and it still came out more like a chili than a soup. However, it is easy, hearty and delicious. I was attracted to this recipe because of the unusual bean and hominy mixture. While I put all the ingredients in as written, it is the kind of recipe that you can easily modify it based upon what you like and what is on hand. Some other reviewers have mentioned the salt content and it's true that if you are on a low sodium diet this is not for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
This was just okay. Tastes just like chili just soupier. I probably won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jadecat

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
WAY too much salt, almost to the point of being inedible. Wish I would have read the other reviews that said that before I made it. Only changes I made were to add some Cumin and lime juice, corn instead of hominy, and black beans in place of the limas ( I don't like them). I tried to add some sour cream to tone down the saltiness, but it didn't help much. If there is a next time, I'll leave out the extra salt altogether.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Menifee, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2014
As this was cooking, I thought that it smelled like it might taste bland . . . HOW WRONG I WAS! This is delicious made exactly as described in the recipe. I make my own dry ranch dressing mix and used 3 tablespoons of that for the package that it called for. It was fantastic!! I will be making this one again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MALAWIMOM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2014
We LOVED it! With the taco and ranch seasoning packages, it doesn't need more salt - plus I added 5 beef bouillon cubes for extra flavor. Will take this to work next time there's a pot luck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2014
OMG! All those cans and packets! Don't you guys ever use fresh stuff? All those additives and stuff are so unhealthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Haydensmama
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
This was really good. I used 2 14.5 oz cans of low sodium chicken broth instead of water and low sodium taco seasoning. I added corn and used a rotisserie chicken instead of beef. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
I thought it was good, but I had to add 5 cups of water, not the 1 1/2 that the recipe called for. Plus I added about half tsp of cayenne pepper to give it more kick. My husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
Absolutely amazing! I used black beans only and I used Mexican corn instead of hominy. I also used 1 can of Rotelle tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
Why does it not show the nutrition and calories on the recipe?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Taco Soup II

A flavorful taco soup with ground beef, taco seasoning, beans, and green chiles.

Slow Cooker Taco Soup

See how to make a 5-star, beefy taco soup with beans.

Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup

Making this chicken taco soup is a snap in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States