Taco Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2000
Very good but to spicey for children
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2002
Add a dollop of sour cream for the kids to tone down the spices. I used Mexican stewed tomatoes, butter beans, and substituted frozen corn for the hominy. Serve with corn chips (and guacamole). Fresh cilantro is wonderful and really compliments this soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
94 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2003
I had a friend who gave me this recipe and I really loved it. It was wonderful. Just like my grandma's only better. lol...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crhume82

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rusk, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2004
Make enough to freeze some for a rainy day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2005
I added 1/2 the chiles because we are wussys and can't take the hot stuff. I also didn't add all those beans just a can of hominy & pintos, no ranch package either. Great recipe. This ones a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROBY

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2005
Excellent recipe. Even my husband loved it. I followed the recipe except used mexican corn instead of hominy and used 2 cups of water. This will be a regular in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by apedawn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Melissajean
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2006
Quick, tasty and super easy! I used 1 lb each of ground beef and ground turkey. Also, 2 cans petite-diced garlic tomatoes and no lima beans (added a little extra white hominy to make up for it). I decreased pepper to 1/2 tsp. and added a little extra water to make it soupier. I salted to taste (salty already because of the seasonings-did not need anywhere near a teaspoon). Served with dollop of sour cream, cheddar cheese and cilantro. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissajean
Home Town: Alpine, California, USA
Living In: La Mesa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2006
Terrific & easy. I added a can of beef broth and some chopped carrot, celery and shredded cabbage for more vegies. Skipped the hominy as hubby doesn't care for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2006
This is AMAZING! I used shredded chicken instead of ground beef. (i'm not really a fan of ground beef so i think it made it better than it would have been otherwise) I also found that there wasnt quite enough liquid, so i doubled the water amount and therefore put in twice the amound of taco seasoning and ranch dressing mix. I also added a can of corn. It was fabulous! My husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2006
Really good, incredibly easy - very similar to chili beans, but extra delicious. The combination of the different beans along with the hominy is excellent. Only recipe change: My market had only southern-style seasoned lima beans, and it still came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Taco Soup II

A flavorful taco soup with ground beef, taco seasoning, beans, and green chiles.

Slow Cooker Taco Soup

See how to make a 5-star, beefy taco soup with beans.

Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup

Making this chicken taco soup is a snap in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States