Taco Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
If you use lean ground chuck and actual seasonings such a cumin and cilantro and a can of rotel tomatoes and chilies, there is a lot less fat and sodium. Also use a bag of frozen mixed mexican vegetables and it is much healthier
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
Never lima beans or hominy. Use kidney beans and pintos, and some corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
I use reg.frozen yellow corn,no tomatoes or lima beans.Love soup and will make my version of this soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Selma, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2012
Excellent. I left out the salt and pepper and it was plenty seasoned. It made about 8 servings. I used spicy taco seasoning and it was perfect for our spicy taste. I topped it with cheddar cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by imsomr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
This is delicious! I use Rotel stewed tomatoes with chiles to give it more zip and add a little sour cream on top with the cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
Didn't have the ranch dressing mix, and only used 1 pound of meat with all the rest of the ingredients the same...It was a recipe I will use again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
Absolutely delicious! I made mine with ground turkey and it is just great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
This is a quick and easy recipe. I used ground chicken and swapped out the hominy for corn and it was still delicious. Thank you for sharing this recipe! It is perfect for the cooler winter and after watching Sunday football.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
The first time I made this it just seemed like chili. I made quite a few changes the second time around bases on some reviews from here and my own ideas. I omitted the kidney and lima beans and used black beans and corn instead. I also added one fresh chopped jalapeno and 3/4 of a can of Rotel diced tomatoes with green chiles in addition to the 4-oz can of green chiles. Lastly I added 3/4 of a block of Velveeta (pre-softened/melted in the microwave). The Velveeta made it a lot creamier and DELICIOUS! I actually forgot to add the salt, but I'm glad I did as the taco seasoning and Velveeta was salty enough. Topped with sour cream, colby jack cheese (optional - may be too cheesy for some), and Fritos...AMAZING!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2011
I wanted a quick meal to use up a pound of ground beef. I had nearly everything I needed to make this one, so I gave it a shot. I was missing pinto beans and stewed tomatoes. What I did was mixed the chilis, pepper, limas, *crushed* tomatoes, hominy and seasoning packets in a bowl. Since I only had a single pound of ground beef, I pulled half of this mixture out to freeze. Now, I can make this recipe a second time even easier! Then, I added a full can of kidney beans and proceeded with the recipe as directed. I'm glad I skipped the salt, I think it might have been a bit much with the taco seasoning. This was VERY good! It tastes like it took all day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ilkaisha

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 155) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Taco Soup II

A flavorful taco soup with ground beef, taco seasoning, beans, and green chiles.

Slow Cooker Taco Soup

See how to make a 5-star, beefy taco soup with beans.

Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup

Making this chicken taco soup is a snap in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States