Taco Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
This was so amazing! I browned the beef and the onions as instructed, but I let the soup simmer in the slow cooker for a few hours on low just for my own convenience. It was too delicious for my waistline!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Ott

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lake Charles, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
I really don't like all those beans. I'd leave the beans out and the ranch dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
This is an excellent recipe, but with changes. I followed the advice of several people and tried to go as natural as possible. I added a finely chopped stalk of celery, a fresh finely chopped jalapeno pepper, changed the water to low salt chicken broth, and used corn instead of hominy. I omitted the lima beans as I do not like the flavor of canned limas. I did add the ranch dressing mix and made my own chili taco seasoning. I did add the pinto and chili beans, the stewed tomatoes, Mexican style and did chop an onion. I did not need to add all the 1 tsp of salt, so if you make the soup, wait until you have mixed everything together to determine how much salt you need. I also added about a half cup of Mexican beer to add more liquid and more depth of flavor to the soup. I covered the pot so the liquid would remain and the soup would resemble soup and not chili. Love this recipe and will be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
To all who are concerned about the sodium content, use homemade no salt taco seasoning, low sodium black beans rinced, low sodium tomatoes, and no salt. Buy low sodiun veggies and if you can't find any (Walmart sells a lot of low sodium veggies) rince them, that will lower the sodium content.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
If you use lean ground chuck and actual seasonings such a cumin and cilantro and a can of rotel tomatoes and chilies, there is a lot less fat and sodium. Also use a bag of frozen mixed mexican vegetables and it is much healthier
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
Never lima beans or hominy. Use kidney beans and pintos, and some corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
I use reg.frozen yellow corn,no tomatoes or lima beans.Love soup and will make my version of this soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Selma, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2012
Excellent. I left out the salt and pepper and it was plenty seasoned. It made about 8 servings. I used spicy taco seasoning and it was perfect for our spicy taste. I topped it with cheddar cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by imsomr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
This is delicious! I use Rotel stewed tomatoes with chiles to give it more zip and add a little sour cream on top with the cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
Didn't have the ranch dressing mix, and only used 1 pound of meat with all the rest of the ingredients the same...It was a recipe I will use again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Taco Soup II

A flavorful taco soup with ground beef, taco seasoning, beans, and green chiles.

Slow Cooker Taco Soup

See how to make a 5-star, beefy taco soup with beans.

Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup

Making this chicken taco soup is a snap in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States