Taco Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2007
Very, Very good. I used chicken instead of beef but did everything the same...added more cumin though and more heat. Hearty and healthy and yummy,..UPDATE: used ground beef the second time around and YUMMO. I also added a 6 oz. can of tomato paste and more water. It is SO good with crushed corn chips and cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by outnumbered
Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Flowery Branch, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2007
I've made this several times but just realized I never reviewed. I make it differently every time according to what I have on hand. I usually only use 1 pound of ground meat as I think it's plenty. I also only use 1 can of beans, whatever kind happens to be in the pantry. I do not add extra salt as there is plenty between the ranch packet and taco packet. I add sour cream and cheese when serving. Perfect cold rainy day meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNY-REDS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Glenmoore, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2007
Love it! So easy to make. Kids like it too! I did take some of the suggestions from other reviewers, used frozen corn instead of hominy just because I didn't have any and used 2 cans of pinto beans. I was skeptical of the ranch seasoning package, but did it anyway and it turned out great! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheKitchenFairy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Wenatchee, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2007
Awesome, wonderful, exceptional, the best! I used butter beans instead of lima beans, and corn instead of hominy. I topped with sour cream and cilantro. This is very easy and inexpensive to make, but the outcome is very special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fondukes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2007
Really, really good stuff!!! I substituted corn for the hominy and more kidney beans for the lima beans. I also added chopped fresh cilantro and sliced avocado on top - extremely tasty! The whole family liked this dinner so I will absolutely be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
237 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2007
So good and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2007
So delicious!! I used ground turkey instead of ground beef! Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2007
We loved this soup. I was a little worried that the green chiles might make it too spicy for me but it really wasn't spice at all. I did use half the ground beef, as we are trying to cut down on red meat and added more water, and it was still so good. Thank you for this quick, easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Quincy, Illinois, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2007
I found it to be a little bland, but I'll add some more pep to it the next time I make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Freeland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2007
This was FANTASTIC! ...and healthy! I only used about a 3/4 lb of lean ground beef. I can't imagine using 2 lbs, I think it would be way too chunky to be considered soup. I left out the Lima beans and hominey but added a can of corn instead. Topped it with a sprinkle of cheddar, light sour cream, fresh lime juice, avacado and several tortilla chips. I thought the idea of ranch dressing mix was rather strange but the taste of this soup was really impressive. Healthy and rather inexpensive meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 155) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Taco Soup II

A flavorful taco soup with ground beef, taco seasoning, beans, and green chiles.

Slow Cooker Taco Soup

See how to make a 5-star, beefy taco soup with beans.

Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup

Making this chicken taco soup is a snap in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States