Taco Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2007
AMAZING! I was skeptical about the lima beans and hominy in this recipe but they are a keeper! I have never been a huge fan of either... but, they go great in this. The flavor is wonderful! This will be a staple in our family from now on!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2007
My family really enjoyed this recipe. I did get a strange look when I said it was "Taco Soup". But they said that it is a definite "yes" to cook again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mchenry, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2007
quick, easy, my family really likes it - my son is so picky - I was surprised he liked it - I doubled the water, taco seasoning and ranch dressin to make it more soup-like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mankato, Minnesota, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Susotchka
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
This was absolutely delicious. I used chili powder, cayenne pepper and hot Hungarian paprika in place of the taco seasoning. Also, to make it vegetarian I used tofu instead of beef. The tofu soaked up all of the flavors in the soup and tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2007
This was so easy to make. I used only 1 pound of hamburger and kept all other measurements the same. I used frozen corn instead of hominy. I thought the ranch packet sounded strange but dumped it in and it was delicious. I ladled the soup on top of corn chips and then topped with green onion, cheddar cheese, sour cream and cilantro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2007
Very, Very good. I used chicken instead of beef but did everything the same...added more cumin though and more heat. Hearty and healthy and yummy,..UPDATE: used ground beef the second time around and YUMMO. I also added a 6 oz. can of tomato paste and more water. It is SO good with crushed corn chips and cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by outnumbered
Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Flowery Branch, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2007
I've made this several times but just realized I never reviewed. I make it differently every time according to what I have on hand. I usually only use 1 pound of ground meat as I think it's plenty. I also only use 1 can of beans, whatever kind happens to be in the pantry. I do not add extra salt as there is plenty between the ranch packet and taco packet. I add sour cream and cheese when serving. Perfect cold rainy day meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNY-REDS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Glenmoore, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2007
Love it! So easy to make. Kids like it too! I did take some of the suggestions from other reviewers, used frozen corn instead of hominy just because I didn't have any and used 2 cans of pinto beans. I was skeptical of the ranch seasoning package, but did it anyway and it turned out great! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheKitchenFairy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Wenatchee, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2007
Awesome, wonderful, exceptional, the best! I used butter beans instead of lima beans, and corn instead of hominy. I topped with sour cream and cilantro. This is very easy and inexpensive to make, but the outcome is very special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fondukes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2007
Really, really good stuff!!! I substituted corn for the hominy and more kidney beans for the lima beans. I also added chopped fresh cilantro and sliced avocado on top - extremely tasty! The whole family liked this dinner so I will absolutely be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
235 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Taco Soup II

A flavorful taco soup with ground beef, taco seasoning, beans, and green chiles.

Slow Cooker Taco Soup

See how to make a 5-star, beefy taco soup with beans.

Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup

Making this chicken taco soup is a snap in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States