Taco Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
This was super simple and delicious! I used black beans instead of the lima and pinto beans just because that's what I had on hand and used diced tomatoes instead of stewed tomatoes. I also used the homemade Taco Seasoning I on this site and served it with cornbread. I added about a cup of extra water so it wasn't quite as thick. We loved it and will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
I just wanted to say this is a wonderful recipe. I made this for a Halloween party and everyone loved it and my family loves it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
My husband can't get enough of this stuff! I also substituted corn for the hominy and used black beans in place of lima beans (just what I had on hand). I used the prescribed amount of water and thought it was still a bit thick but didn't want to water it down too much. I threw in two small cans of tomato juice to thin and it worked perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2007
Seriously, this is my favorite food. Ever. My mom always made it when I was little during the winter. I just made it again, and the best thing with this recipe: use your favorites! I put corn in it instead of lima beans, and I used jalapeños instead of chili peppers. I also made my own taco seasoning from a recipe on here (I think taco seasoning I) instead of the store package (I'm really big on my food being organic). I didn't add the ranch package either. Making my own seasoning made this even better than I could imagine! I love it with cheese and sour cream. Mmm, it's my guilty pleasure. And since there's only 2 of us here, this is enough for me to have dinner for a week or so, it's so good I don't mind eating it for days on end!! My boyfriend who hates beans even loves it! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
149 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vernylynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bristol, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2007
I think I would call this "Southwestern Chili" instead of Taco Soup, but regardless, it's got a nice flavor. I did alter the recipe (and I hate when people rate altered recipes!) but thought I'd chime in. I used canned corn instead of hominy, left out the ranch packet, used 1lb. of ground turkey, one can each of black beans and pinto beans, and a can of southwest chopped tomatoes because I don't like stewed tomatoes. It is definitely more than 6 servings! And very thick. I added a bit more water but then the flavor was too tame - I might add another seasoning packet. It's pretty healthy and full of fiber, so that's nice, but it wasn't really what I expected. I'm not sure if I'd make it again or not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2007
AMAZING! I was skeptical about the lima beans and hominy in this recipe but they are a keeper! I have never been a huge fan of either... but, they go great in this. The flavor is wonderful! This will be a staple in our family from now on!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2007
My family really enjoyed this recipe. I did get a strange look when I said it was "Taco Soup". But they said that it is a definite "yes" to cook again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mchenry, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2007
quick, easy, my family really likes it - my son is so picky - I was surprised he liked it - I doubled the water, taco seasoning and ranch dressin to make it more soup-like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mankato, Minnesota, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Susotchka
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
This was absolutely delicious. I used chili powder, cayenne pepper and hot Hungarian paprika in place of the taco seasoning. Also, to make it vegetarian I used tofu instead of beef. The tofu soaked up all of the flavors in the soup and tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2007
This was so easy to make. I used only 1 pound of hamburger and kept all other measurements the same. I used frozen corn instead of hominy. I thought the ranch packet sounded strange but dumped it in and it was delicious. I ladled the soup on top of corn chips and then topped with green onion, cheddar cheese, sour cream and cilantro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 155) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Taco Soup II

A flavorful taco soup with ground beef, taco seasoning, beans, and green chiles.

Slow Cooker Taco Soup

See how to make a 5-star, beefy taco soup with beans.

Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup

Making this chicken taco soup is a snap in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States