Taco Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2007
My family really enjoyed this recipe. I did get a strange look when I said it was "Taco Soup". But they said that it is a definite "yes" to cook again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mchenry, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2007
quick, easy, my family really likes it - my son is so picky - I was surprised he liked it - I doubled the water, taco seasoning and ranch dressin to make it more soup-like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mankato, Minnesota, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Susotchka
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
This was absolutely delicious. I used chili powder, cayenne pepper and hot Hungarian paprika in place of the taco seasoning. Also, to make it vegetarian I used tofu instead of beef. The tofu soaked up all of the flavors in the soup and tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2007
This was so easy to make. I used only 1 pound of hamburger and kept all other measurements the same. I used frozen corn instead of hominy. I thought the ranch packet sounded strange but dumped it in and it was delicious. I ladled the soup on top of corn chips and then topped with green onion, cheddar cheese, sour cream and cilantro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2007
Very, Very good. I used chicken instead of beef but did everything the same...added more cumin though and more heat. Hearty and healthy and yummy,..UPDATE: used ground beef the second time around and YUMMO. I also added a 6 oz. can of tomato paste and more water. It is SO good with crushed corn chips and cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by outnumbered
Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Flowery Branch, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2007
I've made this several times but just realized I never reviewed. I make it differently every time according to what I have on hand. I usually only use 1 pound of ground meat as I think it's plenty. I also only use 1 can of beans, whatever kind happens to be in the pantry. I do not add extra salt as there is plenty between the ranch packet and taco packet. I add sour cream and cheese when serving. Perfect cold rainy day meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNY-REDS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Glenmoore, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2007
Love it! So easy to make. Kids like it too! I did take some of the suggestions from other reviewers, used frozen corn instead of hominy just because I didn't have any and used 2 cans of pinto beans. I was skeptical of the ranch seasoning package, but did it anyway and it turned out great! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheKitchenFairy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Wenatchee, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2007
Awesome, wonderful, exceptional, the best! I used butter beans instead of lima beans, and corn instead of hominy. I topped with sour cream and cilantro. This is very easy and inexpensive to make, but the outcome is very special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fondukes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2007
Really, really good stuff!!! I substituted corn for the hominy and more kidney beans for the lima beans. I also added chopped fresh cilantro and sliced avocado on top - extremely tasty! The whole family liked this dinner so I will absolutely be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
233 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2007
So good and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Taco Soup II

A flavorful taco soup with ground beef, taco seasoning, beans, and green chiles.

Slow Cooker Taco Soup

See how to make a 5-star, beefy taco soup with beans.

Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup

Making this chicken taco soup is a snap in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States