Taco Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2008
I made this last night with lb of ground turkey, black beans instead of lima, and mexicorn instead of hominy. My 3 year old gobbled it down. It was so good! I put in the crockpot all day and it worked perfectly! I bet it would be really good with some cornbread on top of it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MKBERTHOT

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
Tasty as is and easy to modify. I've made this recipe or a variation thereof several times, both on the stove and in a slow cooker (about 4-5 hrs on low to let the flavors meld). Its really inexpensive, especially when I cut the meat in half, which makes it the best for feeding a lot of people, and it's great for a come-home-to lunch with friends on Sunday after Church.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Norman, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
Long time favorite of mine; I make it every year when it starts to get a nip in the air. It's also similar to a recipe shared at a weight loss meeting - full of good fiber! Enjoy. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
Needed hot sauce to perk it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
Loved it! I used diced jalapenos, added a good amount of fresh cilantro and served with cheese, chips and sour cream. Will make this a regular at our house. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
This was super simple and delicious! I used black beans instead of the lima and pinto beans just because that's what I had on hand and used diced tomatoes instead of stewed tomatoes. I also used the homemade Taco Seasoning I on this site and served it with cornbread. I added about a cup of extra water so it wasn't quite as thick. We loved it and will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
I just wanted to say this is a wonderful recipe. I made this for a Halloween party and everyone loved it and my family loves it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
My husband can't get enough of this stuff! I also substituted corn for the hominy and used black beans in place of lima beans (just what I had on hand). I used the prescribed amount of water and thought it was still a bit thick but didn't want to water it down too much. I threw in two small cans of tomato juice to thin and it worked perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2007
Seriously, this is my favorite food. Ever. My mom always made it when I was little during the winter. I just made it again, and the best thing with this recipe: use your favorites! I put corn in it instead of lima beans, and I used jalapeños instead of chili peppers. I also made my own taco seasoning from a recipe on here (I think taco seasoning I) instead of the store package (I'm really big on my food being organic). I didn't add the ranch package either. Making my own seasoning made this even better than I could imagine! I love it with cheese and sour cream. Mmm, it's my guilty pleasure. And since there's only 2 of us here, this is enough for me to have dinner for a week or so, it's so good I don't mind eating it for days on end!! My boyfriend who hates beans even loves it! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
143 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vernylynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bristol, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2007
I think I would call this "Southwestern Chili" instead of Taco Soup, but regardless, it's got a nice flavor. I did alter the recipe (and I hate when people rate altered recipes!) but thought I'd chime in. I used canned corn instead of hominy, left out the ranch packet, used 1lb. of ground turkey, one can each of black beans and pinto beans, and a can of southwest chopped tomatoes because I don't like stewed tomatoes. It is definitely more than 6 servings! And very thick. I added a bit more water but then the flavor was too tame - I might add another seasoning packet. It's pretty healthy and full of fiber, so that's nice, but it wasn't really what I expected. I'm not sure if I'd make it again or not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Taco Soup II

A flavorful taco soup with ground beef, taco seasoning, beans, and green chiles.

Slow Cooker Taco Soup

See how to make a 5-star, beefy taco soup with beans.

Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup

Making this chicken taco soup is a snap in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States