Taco Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
I spiced this up for my husband (added jalepenos and jalepeno powder) and kept it more mild for me. We both loved it! I used a chipotle taco seasoning, which was very tasty. Also, I used only 1.3 pounds of ground turkey, and omitted the lima beans. There didn't seem to be much broth even after those omissions, so I think leaving out one can of the beans was a good choice. I'm making it again tonight. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
Rated 4 stars because the recipe need MUCH more water (at least 3 cups) to reduce thickness, and it was still very hearty. I also added a small can of tomato paste, but I think I may add even more stewed tomatoes. Very tasty, I used shredded cheese and Baked Doritos as a topping. Had enough for 2 meals, 2 lunches and lots to give to a neighbor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marion, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
made it without the meat and added in some garlic with the onion. i also used a mix of garbanzo beans, black beans, hominy, and pintos, instead of following the recipe directly. and i added more water. yum! hearty and good for you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2008
The ranch mix gives this taco soup a off taste. There is another taco soup on here that is great and almost like this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KO

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Holladay, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
This taco soup variation is one of my favorites. It's just so easy and so good, and is great leftover or even reheated after being frozen. Works well in the crock pot too, and is a favorite at office pot lucks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Joshua Tree, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2008
Based on other peoples comments about it being more like a chili, I changed it up a bit seeing as I didn't want chili. Instead of draining the liquids out of the beans and such, I added the liquid to it. The liquid added so much flavor to the soup. But it would def. work great as a chili or a soup. Just remember, you can always be creative with what your cooking and you don't have to follow the recipe exactly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: League City, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2008
My family loves this soup. I always leave out the lima beans and hominy and I add frozen corn. It is so DARN GOOD! I always double the recipe and I make this about once a month now. Everyone at worked asked for the recipe. If you want a bigger kick to it you can add the hot taco seasoning, I always use the regular or mild. DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2008
great comfort food. I added corn and I also did not drain the beans. I used kidney beans only since that is the kind my kids like the best. I chopped up corn tortilla's into "noodles" and added them 5 min before we ate dinner.. YUM O
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daniele Grigsby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fernie, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
Yum! I made this for a Bunco night and it was a big hit. I actually used Boca crumbles instead of ground beef and nobody noticed! When I revealed my secret, most were pleasantly surprised. I forgot to add the fresh cilantro to this in all of the Bunco chaos. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2008
my husband loved this recipe. to make it even better, he said to add another can of stewed tomatoes. i didn't need to add the extra salt. it was just fine without it. i will definitely share this recipe with family and friends!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by reba

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 154) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Taco Soup II

A flavorful taco soup with ground beef, taco seasoning, beans, and green chiles.

Slow Cooker Taco Soup

See how to make a 5-star, beefy taco soup with beans.

Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup

Making this chicken taco soup is a snap in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States