Taco Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2009
This was awesome! I changed up the beans a little bit using a can of black beans and a can of ranch style with jalapeno's. I also doubled the water because I added mexican corn in addition to the hominy. YUM!!! This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
Great recipe. I took the advise and added the corn and deleted the hominy beans. I sauteed the onions before putting them in the stew, because my kids hate them. I only used about a quarter of the onion. My kids never noticed they were in there. Followed the recipe and directions to the tee otherwise. Quick, easy, and taste great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Apple Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
This was SO good. Like a lot of other people, I added more water and did not add the lima beans. I REALLY did not like the beef in this because even though it was a sort of "chili" it was more of a soup still so next time if I add any meat at all I will add some shredded chicken. The seasonings were perfect and it was so delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
With all those beans, it was more like chili than soup, but still very good anyway!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mr. Big Business

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lonaconing, Maryland, USA
Living In: Warrenton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by 23DAISYS
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2009
I made a few changes to suit my husbands taste. He really only likes black beans, so I used 1 can of corn, 1 can of hominy and two cans of black beans instead of all the other beans. I used no salt added corn and beans and omitted the salt since other reviews said it came out salty. I also used cooked & diced chicken breast instead of ground beef to make it lower in fat. It was delish! I only gave four stars due to all my changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 23DAISYS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
3 stars for EASY -- but didn't produce the flavor that the title would imply...Not a bad combination of ingredients, just NOT very taco-flavored, and I even added more cumin, mexican oregano, etc. I think the ranch dressing mix toned down the taco taste and added a LOT of sodium this could really do without. Thanks anyway!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
I spiced this up for my husband (added jalepenos and jalepeno powder) and kept it more mild for me. We both loved it! I used a chipotle taco seasoning, which was very tasty. Also, I used only 1.3 pounds of ground turkey, and omitted the lima beans. There didn't seem to be much broth even after those omissions, so I think leaving out one can of the beans was a good choice. I'm making it again tonight. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
Rated 4 stars because the recipe need MUCH more water (at least 3 cups) to reduce thickness, and it was still very hearty. I also added a small can of tomato paste, but I think I may add even more stewed tomatoes. Very tasty, I used shredded cheese and Baked Doritos as a topping. Had enough for 2 meals, 2 lunches and lots to give to a neighbor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marion, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
made it without the meat and added in some garlic with the onion. i also used a mix of garbanzo beans, black beans, hominy, and pintos, instead of following the recipe directly. and i added more water. yum! hearty and good for you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2008
The ranch mix gives this taco soup a off taste. There is another taco soup on here that is great and almost like this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KO

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Holladay, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Taco Soup II

A flavorful taco soup with ground beef, taco seasoning, beans, and green chiles.

Slow Cooker Taco Soup

See how to make a 5-star, beefy taco soup with beans.

Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup

Making this chicken taco soup is a snap in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States