Taco Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
I thought the soup had too much stuff and not enough brothiness. I added stock and used ground turkey cause I don't eat beef. The spice needed a kick up too. I added Mexican chili powder and some extra heat to make it more taco tasting. It was too bland...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gwendyh

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Boulder, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
I made quite a few changes because I recently went vegetarian. I used the meatball recipe from I think it was Vegetarian Sweet and Sour Meatballs and replaced the beef. It turned out beautiful even my omnivorous family was surprised!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
This has really good flavor. I found that the recipe as written doesn't produce much of a broth. I added a second can of tomatoes and used about 2 1/4 c. water and it still came out more like a chili than a soup. However, it is easy, hearty and delicious. I was attracted to this recipe because of the unusual bean and hominy mixture. While I put all the ingredients in as written, it is the kind of recipe that you can easily modify it based upon what you like and what is on hand. Some other reviewers have mentioned the salt content and it's true that if you are on a low sodium diet this is not for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
This was just okay. Tastes just like chili just soupier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jadecat

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
WAY too much salt, almost to the point of being inedible. Wish I would have read the other reviews that said that before I made it. Only changes I made were to add some Cumin and lime juice, corn instead of hominy, and black beans in place of the limas ( I don't like them). I tried to add some sour cream to tone down the saltiness, but it didn't help much. If there is a next time, I'll leave out the extra salt altogether.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Menifee, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2014
As this was cooking, I thought that it smelled like it might taste bland . . . HOW WRONG I WAS! This is delicious made exactly as described in the recipe. I make my own dry ranch dressing mix and used 3 tablespoons of that for the package that it called for. It was fantastic!! I will be making this one again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MALAWIMOM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2014
We LOVED it! With the taco and ranch seasoning packages, it doesn't need more salt - plus I added 5 beef bouillon cubes for extra flavor. Will take this to work next time there's a pot luck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sun City, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Haydensmama
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
This was really good. I used 2 14.5 oz cans of low sodium chicken broth instead of water and low sodium taco seasoning. I added corn and used a rotisserie chicken instead of beef. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
I thought it was good, but I had to add 5 cups of water, not the 1 1/2 that the recipe called for. Plus I added about half tsp of cayenne pepper to give it more kick. My husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
Absolutely amazing! I used black beans only and I used Mexican corn instead of hominy. I also used 1 can of Rotelle tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Taco Soup II

A flavorful taco soup with ground beef, taco seasoning, beans, and green chiles.

Slow Cooker Taco Soup

See how to make a 5-star, beefy taco soup with beans.

Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup

Making this chicken taco soup is a snap in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States