Taco Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2014
We loved this soup! This was so easy to put together and it looked just like chili except it didn't taste at all like chili. It did taste similar to a taco. Not exactly like a taco to me, but it's in the same family of flavors. I used 3/4 of lean beef( I did not drain the grease off), a really little (smaller than my fist) Texas Sweet onion, black beans, a 7 oz. can of mexican tomato sauce, "Homemade taco seasoning mix" (recipe here on AR) and chicken broth instead of water. My only addition was half a can of southwest corn which had diced poblano and red peppers in it. I did let this simmer for a couple of hours though as it seemed watery in taste and it needed some body after only 30 minutes. This benefited greatly from the longer simmer (with the lid off) and it was much richer and more flavorful after the longer cooking time. The next time I fix this I will use a full pound of meat and again, let it simmer for quite some time. I didn't have any avocado, but I did fry up some corn tortilla strips for garnish and this was so delicious! This yielded 4 servings, but this was so good we could have eaten a second portion. Thanks for sharing this wonderful soup with us! Total love for this dish at our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
My husband hates soup, but he liked this one. I used the Taco Seasoning 1 recipes on this site. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sheboygan Falls, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: San Angelo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2011
My family really enjoyed this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Amelia, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
Use entire packet of taco seasoninng
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nmschalk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bay City, Michigan, USA
Living In: Bloomfield, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
Yummy! My whole family really enjoyed this! This was a last minute dinner idea and I'll be making this again. Did increase the amount of taco seasoning to taste, other than that couldn't be easier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
This recipe is perfect if you need something warm and comforting on a Friday night after a long work week. I did make a few changes but am sure it's just as good as written. I used ground turkey breast and 2 tbsp. McCormicks Chili-O seasoning packet. I also added some black beans, only because I had some left-over. I rinsed and drained the kidney beans and added extra water. I don't care for the liquid in canned beans. Easy yet delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
I had to make this stretch for lunches next week plus use what I had on hand. I used ground turkey, two medium yellow onions, organic canned tomatoes, organic canned kidney beans, and organic tomato sauce. I made my own taco seasoning mix. To make this more filling and to add a little more flavor, I did add in one can Mexi-corn, rinsed and drained, an additional can of organic black beans, also rinsed and drained and a couple cloves of minced garlic. After tasting it, I did add in more taco seasoning. This was okay--good enough for what I needed. I think it would have been better with broth instead of water but I was in a hurry. My husband says it's the avocado that really does it for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
Sounded good, especially the comment of "taco in a bowl". To me this was just chili, and not even good chili. Won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
Love it! Comes out perfect every time!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mayyadasmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Palatine, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
This is ok to eat, but it smells bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jasmine

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Taco Soup II

A flavorful taco soup with ground beef, taco seasoning, beans, and green chiles.

Slow Cooker Taco Soup

See how to make a 5-star, beefy taco soup with beans.

Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup

Making this chicken taco soup is a snap in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States