Taco Seasoning (without the chili powder) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
I'm so happy to have found your recipe without chilli powder. Did it as is. It's perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
this is great! I dont live in the states so its hard to find mexican food so everything has to be made from scratch! Now I have this mix in a bottle in my kitchen and use it on so many things! Its great with shrip also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by michellezevenaar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Eindhoven, Noord-Brabant, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ChristineM
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
Nothing against chili powder, but I think I like this version of Taco Seasoning better than the ones that include. Only change was to reduce the salt to 1/2 tsp, and since I do have Mexican oregano on hand I used that. I also like the heat from crushed red pepper flakes, although again, nothing against cayenne! :) I guesstimated that half a recipe of this is equal to a typical packet of seasoning mix, so that's what I added to the Slow Cooker Cilantro Lime Chicken that is simmering away at the moment. Smells delicious, and I think I'll be better able to use the chicken in different recipes due to the omission of the chili powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChristineM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
Just as good as packaged and a lot cheaper. I keep it in the cabinet at the ready.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
This is my first rating...I had to share my pleasure in this "keeper" mix; it has been transcribed in my most used cookbooks so I'll always have it on hand...I made it per recipe w/the exception of salt content; cut back to one teaspoon salt and on occasion 1/2 t. salt & 1/2 t. (gasp!) MSG...my bad!..(p.s. I take as much pleasure in reading ratings as checking out recipes). Keep up the great work on this site!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2012
This was very good. Chili powder is for chili, and Ancho, Chipolte, Cayenne, etc. are powdered chilies. The fact that this can be adjusted for heat is great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Trenton, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2012
FYI-For Southwest Cooking, MEXICAN OREGANO should be used as opposed to the traditional oregano used in Italian and Mediterranian dishes. There is a huge difference in flavor between the two. Try both and decide. Thank you for this good recipe. Great to start off with and allows for personal taste adjustments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2012
Oh my god! Oh my god! This was amazing and I can even adjust it for when I'm cooking for others that have to eat less spicy food but I think it's better than the prepackaged alternative.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
one ounce is 2 tablespoons which is usually what a packet of taco seasoning is. This is a great seasoning for tacos. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maria Underwood

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2012
I come from a family of chili powder enthusiasts, so I've been raised to be a chili powder snob. I can say that there are mixes, and then there is real chili powder, which only uses dried chili pepper. I believe McCormick makes both, and both are under the guise of "Chili powder"-- the difference is really easy to taste. That said, I really liked this seasoning, especially the addition of oregano, which I never would have considered before. My husband loved the heat from the crushed red pepper flakes. I cut the salt in half, though-- I think it would have been too salty for me in the amount called for. Thanks for the recipe. It has inspired me to include oregano in my mother's traditional Mexican dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RowanaSabe

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Taco Seasoning Mix

A simple taco seasoning mix that’s lower in salt than packaged mixes.

Restaurant-Style Taco Meat Seasoning

Tastes just like a popular restaurant’s seasoning mix for beef tacos.

Fajita Seasoning

Turn simple spices into a flavorful fajita seasoning blend.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States