Taco Seasoning (without the chili powder) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
Where I come from (Calif) Chili Powder is just that...the powder from dried, seeded ground chilies. At the big chain grocery stores I shop I find that Spice Island, Schillings and McCormick all have "Chili Powder" and there is only one ingredient...ground chilies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
This is really good, except I omitted the salt. One huge advantage of making my own seasoning mixture is that I can control the sodium. In this case, I add the necessary salt to taste in each individual dish. If the dish contains salty ingredients like tomato sauce or cheese, often no additional salt is necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
one ounce is 2 tablespoons which is usually what a packet of taco seasoning is. This is a great seasoning for tacos. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maria Underwood

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
McCormick chili powder: ingredients.....chili peppers,cumin, salt, oregano,garlic. Doesn't sound like 'ground peppers' to me......this recipe is much appreciated...thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2012
I come from a family of chili powder enthusiasts, so I've been raised to be a chili powder snob. I can say that there are mixes, and then there is real chili powder, which only uses dried chili pepper. I believe McCormick makes both, and both are under the guise of "Chili powder"-- the difference is really easy to taste. That said, I really liked this seasoning, especially the addition of oregano, which I never would have considered before. My husband loved the heat from the crushed red pepper flakes. I cut the salt in half, though-- I think it would have been too salty for me in the amount called for. Thanks for the recipe. It has inspired me to include oregano in my mother's traditional Mexican dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RowanaSabe

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2012
FYI-For Southwest Cooking, MEXICAN OREGANO should be used as opposed to the traditional oregano used in Italian and Mediterranian dishes. There is a huge difference in flavor between the two. Try both and decide. Thank you for this good recipe. Great to start off with and allows for personal taste adjustments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2012
This was very good. Chili powder is for chili, and Ancho, Chipolte, Cayenne, etc. are powdered chilies. The fact that this can be adjusted for heat is great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Trenton, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
Excellent! I've used this over and over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Versailles, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Tomball, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
This was terrific!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
How much of this do you use if a recipe calls for a package of taco seasoning?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Homemade Taco Seasoning Mix

A simple taco seasoning mix that’s lower in salt than packaged mixes.

Restaurant-Style Taco Meat Seasoning

Tastes just like a popular restaurant’s seasoning mix for beef tacos.

Fajita Seasoning

Turn simple spices into a flavorful fajita seasoning blend.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States