Taco Seasoning (without the chili powder) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2013
Oh my gosh, this was fantastic!!!! Much better than our previous go to packet junk. My husband and toddlers think it's too spicy though (booo), so I think we'll cut back on the pepper flakes. It is so delicious though! For those who don't know, like us, we added water to the browned ground beef, then put 3 tbs. of the seasoning in and mixed it up. I'm going to have to make quite a few servings of this and fill up our jelly jar to use every week :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Modesto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2013
very good. used smoked paprika which lent a really nice flavor. works well as a rub on pork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by My Happy Acres

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hannibal, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2013
Great recipe! I used about 1/2 the amount of crushed red pepper flakes, and I'd say the taco meat ended up on the mild side of medium when using about 1.5 Tbsp seasoning per lb of meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2013
This was fabulous and my entire family loved it! I didn't have red pepper flakes so I used 1/8 tsp. of cayenne instead. I used 1/4 cup of seasoning to 1 lb. of ground turkey with 3/4 cup of water. There was a decent kick to it and any spicier may have been too much for my kids (but not my husband and I). While the meat was browning I added 1 Tbsp. of minced garlic. After the meat was browned, I drained it and added 3/4 Cup diced onion and 1 small diced green pepper (I sauteed the green pepper and onion separately before adding to the meat). I then added the seasoning and combined thoroughly before adding 3/4 Cup of water. I simmered uncovered for 15-20 minutes. I will certainly be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by halfnotes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
This recipe makes a seasoning that tastes better than the prepackaged stuff. The best part is that you can control each spice and herb in the recipe depending on the flavors you and your family enjoy. And the only chili powders I can find are blends, so this recipe eliminates redundancy found in other taco seasoning recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norwalk, California, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
This is a great seasoning for all kinds of food in the amounts that you want...I love a smidgon sprinkled on thick slices of fresh tomato and other raw vegetables...Put it in a salt shaker and sprinkle it on(it really improves zucchini!)...Mexican oregano is "Pot Margoram" which I ordered from an online spice shop...I also reduced the salt...An econonmical and versatile recipe...Thank you so much for making it available...It is greatly appreciated!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
Excellent mix of spices! will use again and again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PATTIMAC2000

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Living In: Vista, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
I'm so happy to have found your recipe without chilli powder. Did it as is. It's perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
this is great! I dont live in the states so its hard to find mexican food so everything has to be made from scratch! Now I have this mix in a bottle in my kitchen and use it on so many things! Its great with shrip also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by michellezevenaar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Eindhoven, Noord-Brabant, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christine M
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
Nothing against chili powder, but I think I like this version of Taco Seasoning better than the ones that include. Only change was to reduce the salt to 1/2 tsp, and since I do have Mexican oregano on hand I used that. I also like the heat from crushed red pepper flakes, although again, nothing against cayenne! :) I guesstimated that half a recipe of this is equal to a typical packet of seasoning mix, so that's what I added to the Slow Cooker Cilantro Lime Chicken that is simmering away at the moment. Smells delicious, and I think I'll be better able to use the chicken in different recipes due to the omission of the chili powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Homemade Taco Seasoning Mix

A simple taco seasoning mix that’s lower in salt than packaged mixes.

Restaurant-Style Taco Meat Seasoning

Tastes just like a popular restaurant’s seasoning mix for beef tacos.

Fajita Seasoning

Turn simple spices into a flavorful fajita seasoning blend.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States