Taco Seasoning (without the chili powder) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
Oh yeah! My family liked this as much as the packets, and this was fun to mix up. Of course I have to tweak everything. I reduced the salt and cayenne, added 2 tsp flour and 1 tsp beef bullion granules. Also added 1/2 tsp cinnamon, 1/2 tsp allspice, 1/2 tsp ground thyme, 1/2 tsp ground marjoram, and 2 tsp ground coriander. Those are spices I use for my chili, so figured what the heck. Add 3/4 cup water and 2 Tbsp of spice mix to a pound of ground beef and cook down. Lovely! Thank you for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2014
thank you for making a recipe without chili powder in it. It never made sense to me because its just full of most of the stuff you're about to add anyway. Chili powder and chile powder are two different things JT. Chile powder consists purely of dried and ground chile peppers, while chili powder is a combination of ground dried chiles, oregano, cumin, garlic and salt. Uses. Chili powder is most commonly used to season chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2014
I was intrigued with this "Taco Seasoning (without the chili powder)" recipe as I make spice blends from all over the world, including chili powder, which is in fact a blend of spices in my own neck of the woods. I think that most Westerners would like this blend, but it is very light on the SPICY and heavy on the GARLIC for my family's taste buds. I tried to adjust the seasonings to our tastes but I was not lucky (my fault: not the recipe). Thank you hungry for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
I ground my spices fresh, and the black pepper was the only thing I tasted in my chili. Grinding the peppercorns is NOT a good idea for this. I mean, we're talking so much that it was actually too spicy to even eat (and I love really spicy food). So don't do that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2014
I had to tweak the recipe because after simmering the taste of cumin was strong. Other than that I loved it I used it to make my taco salsa for a family gathering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
I have been experimenting with making my own shells and this recipe pop up. I live in a house where I have to be careful with heat and pungent spices. so I made this and sprinkled it on the mild salsa for me. It was excellent. so next morning I made scramble eggs added some salsa and sprinkled this on the eggs. Then we had baked chicken legs with one of those healthy leaf mixes. I sprinkled it on the salad. Made the salad outstanding. My conclusion is thank you. I now have a format to play. As everybody agrees that chili powder is ground pepper, since I ground the pepper flakes into a powder I now have a seasoning with chili powder (that should make the chili mix people happy. LOL. The variations are endless. Today I made bolognaise sauce. it needed something I added this seasoning. I stopped making my seasoning salt to control the salt in our diet. If I drop the cumin and oregano and add brown sugar celery seed and turmeric plus 1/2 cup salt I have seasoning salt. This summer if the seeds are viable, I will have ground dried ghost pepper in this recipe. That will really put the chili powder in this recipe. No it will not be given to the one I love. thanks again a simple recipe with great potential for playing. One final note I have to make chili for one (she doesn't like beans either)next time guess what my chili sauce is going to be? LOL with maybe a touch more ground pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
I made this seasoning with a few adjustments. For the crushed red pepper flakes and paprika, I used my own blend of peppers (I grow and dry many types from mild to HOT). Anyway, it turned out great! When my guest arrived for dinner, she immediately thought I was making tacos based on the aromas filling the house. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
This is my go to seasoning mix for Tacos. I quit buying the packets and keep bottles of cumin on hand for this because my sons ask for it often. I put less salt and red pepper than called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wat2eat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Brunswick, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2013
Okay, not great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2013
Oh my gosh, this was fantastic!!!! Much better than our previous go to packet junk. My husband and toddlers think it's too spicy though (booo), so I think we'll cut back on the pepper flakes. It is so delicious though! For those who don't know, like us, we added water to the browned ground beef, then put 3 tbs. of the seasoning in and mixed it up. I'm going to have to make quite a few servings of this and fill up our jelly jar to use every week :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Modesto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Taco Seasoning Mix

A simple taco seasoning mix that’s lower in salt than packaged mixes.

Restaurant-Style Taco Meat Seasoning

Tastes just like a popular restaurant’s seasoning mix for beef tacos.

Fajita Seasoning

Turn simple spices into a flavorful fajita seasoning blend.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States