Taco Seasoning III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2004
I couldn't even finish two bites. I used this recipe to make taco meat for a salad. Even with ranch dressing, I felt like my lips were going to fall off from the heat! I've never had that problem with the store-bought kind. If you like really hot tacos, this is the recipes for you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2007
YUMMY! I suggest putting the mix in an old plastic parmesan cheese shaker. That way you can sprinkle on as much as you want, or scoop it out of the other side. Plus the container holds a lot, and you can always see how much is left over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by egghead96

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Living In: Lawrenceville, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2002
Excellent for ground beef or turkey. This tastes better than store bought. Is less salty and more flavorful. I have already prepared my second batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2008
Can't mess this one up! I needed a mexican seasoning for chicken that would ultimately be shredded and go into a mexican casserole, so I made this only used onion powder, garlic poder, and omitted the cumin since I didn't have any. I was very loose with the measuring and it still turned out great. I threw in a dash of cayenne for some heat and my chicken turned out delicious. Can't screw this one up, people! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZZY9VOLT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ogden, Utah, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2007
I've been making this seasoning mix for several years now and will never switch back to the store-bought packages. Stores well and tastes great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SVENSKA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Severna Park, Maryland, USA
Living In: Moon Township, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2007
We really enjoy this recipe. I like to add a can of diced tomatoes, corn & black beans to the meat and seasoning when I prepare it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cedar City, Utah, USA
Living In: Fort Knox, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2003
This was an excellent recipe. I was in a crunch when I had already defrosted my meat and cut up the toppings for the tacos when I realized, no seasoning. I had everything I need for this recipe in my pantry which was great. I just added a little more salt. I will definitely recommend to friends and family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2007
FANTASTIC!!! My AUSSIE kids LOVE TACOS... so that has been the request for the past week... However I discovered that I didn't have a taco seasoning pkt in my pantry so as a last minute ditch I searched 'allrecipes' in hope that I would have the ingedients n my cupboards. Well, it was a success. In fact, all of my 3 children said that it was the BEST taco meat that they had ever had. Thank you!! Definately a WINNER at our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2003
Very good recipe!! Will not be buying the store stuff anymore.Very good taste and like that you can adjust the amount of heat.Will be using this recipe from now on.Thank you Joanie for this great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JARRIE
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2010
This isn't bad. It isn't the greatest either. It's salty, and salt of a sort that is a waste of your allotment of salt for the day. Switch the 4 tsp salt for 3 tsp (or even 2 if you're used to a lower salt diet) of chicken bouillon (or beef bouillon, doesn't matter which, though beef is better if you're subbing turkey for beef). You can always experiment with other spices in your pantry as well -- cayenne for heat, cocoa for depth, etc. It's a good base to tweak to your own tastes! EDIT: 7/16/10: The most valuable thing about this recipe vs. the more popular "Taco Seasoning I" on this site is that *this* recipe remembers to add flour while the other does not. Flour (or cornmeal, or masa harina) helps your seasonings cook down & adhere to the meat. I use cornmeal because it also adds a good flavor, but you can use whichever. Thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Restaurant-Style Taco Meat Seasoning

Tastes just like a popular restaurant’s seasoning mix for beef tacos.

Homemade Taco Seasoning Mix

A simple taco seasoning mix that’s lower in salt than packaged mixes.

Taco Seasoning I

See how to make your own five-star taco-seasoning mix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States