Taco Seasoning II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2003
This was really good! I was in the middle of making dinner and realized I was out of my usual store bought seasoning packets ( O No!) and made this at the last second....couldn't tell the difference! Awesome find!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2004
It is always nice to find substitution recipes! Even if you add salt later, the nutrition value of this recipe is better than that of packaged Taco seasoning. Just read the packaged ingredients and nutritional values.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2004
I accidentally reviewed the wrong recipe. This is the taco seasoning that I tried one evening when I realized I didn't have any pre-packaged envelopes. I'll never buy that stuff again. Just keep this in your spice cupboard and use as needed. I labeled the jar with the actual recipe so I can just quickly refill it when I run out. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2003
I decided to try this because my 11 year old complained that the seasoning that I usually use "taco seasoning" from this site, is too hot. I was a little leary to try this because of the corn starch, but I was wrong! I did add some salt to taste, but recieved rave reviews from all the kids, including a very picky 22 month old (who ate his whole taco...well the filling anyway). Thanks Waco Kid!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2003
I found this to be a great starter recipe, that you can twick to your own taste. Also, I found that the recommended 7tsp to one envelope was a bit heavy. Next time I will start around 4tsp and add more if needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2003
This is a wonderful recipe for taco seasoning. It is absolutely delicious. So much tastier than the packaged mixes at the store, plus there is no salt or artificial ingredients. All the needed items for making this mix you'll find in your kitchen cabinets. We are big fans of Mexican food and spicy dishes. This is a versatile mix that can be used in many different ways. I haved used this to make tacos, casseroles, dips, and it has always been a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2003
Great! I was making a casserole that required taco seasoning and I didn't have any on hand...and once again Allrecipes came to the rescue!! This is very very close to packaged taco seasoning. The only change I made was to add salt, and than it was perfect. Remember though, this is only good if your spices are fresh and aromatic. Thanks Waco Kid for a helpful and economical recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mollycurls77

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bridgewater, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2003
I ran out of my usual taco seasoning from this site, and since my market was having a half price sale on all spices and herbs, I decided to give this recipe a try. Glad I did! This is great and tastes just like my favorite store bought brand. The big plus is its healthier and more inexpensive than store bought. Thanks WACO KID!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2004
Great mix! I added 2 Tbl. salt and used twice the amount. It was great. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2005
This was excellent. I was looking for a replacement for the packaged stuff. As per other reviews I reduced the paprika to 3 tsp and doubled the cayenne. This is a keeper for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 140) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Restaurant-Style Taco Meat Seasoning

Tastes just like a popular restaurant’s seasoning mix for beef tacos.

Homemade Taco Seasoning Mix

A simple taco seasoning mix that’s lower in salt than packaged mixes.

Taco Seasoning I

See how to make your own five-star taco-seasoning mix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States