Taco Seasoning II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2008
Well...I'm far from a spice gourmet, buying spices from the supermarket shelf for the most part, but I didn't care for this at all. Chili powder already has cumin and garlic. Paprika is sweet red pepper pods, ground. I wondered if the recipe accounted for that, but based on the reviews, I suppose it did. I could not put my finger on what was missing, or what was too heavy, but I THINK: less cumin; more 'spice' or 'heat', however that might be obtained. I also like to use dehydrated onions instead of onion powder. I think this is totally a personal preference, so I'm sure many more will enjoy this recipe. Don't hesitate to try it; just not for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Thisni Caza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Kansas, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2008
This recipe was great and I will definitely use it again. I didn't have any cayenne pepper so I used red pepper instead. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Obremski

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2008
I was pleasantly surprised with the taste of this recipe. I always think the packages from the store are WAY too salty (even when I'm not pregnant, like I am right now) so I was glad to see this recipe didn't even call for salt. My husband is a taco fanatic, would eat them all the time if he could and he really liked the seasoning. I thought it could have used a tiny bit of salt (go figure!) but he said he wouldn't even bother. I will definitely be using this again and again! Thanks for such a great recipe!!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walton, New York, USA
Living In: Shawnee, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2008
If you want something to clear your sinuses then this is not for you, but if you want something with just the right amount of spice and simple to make then this is the recipe you want.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hmsteen

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2008
Super easy! I like being able to control my family's salt intake. I ran out of chili powder and only put in half the amount. Still delicious in recipes. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WINNONA

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Costa Mesa, California, USA
Living In: Laguna Beach, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2008
BORING! Bland, bland, bland. Won't be using this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Litchfield Park, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2008
I like this recipe in a pinch. There have been times I totally forgot to buy taco seasoning and this works great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2008
This is an excellent recipe. I saute chicken strips in a little oil and then put the seasoning in. It makes yummy chicken nachos. I serve it with mexican rice II from this site. Perfect for a quick meal or for parties.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty M.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
this was really good....the ony thing is I would double or tripple the batch to make to have on hand for a good while. the only thing is you might have to go buy more spices cuz it uses them all up! but its worth it, I can't believe the unhealthy things they put in the packets you buy at the store...MSG being one of the main ones...and hydrogenated oils too...why would they need to put all that?? So much better for your family this way with no cancer risks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2008
Great Recipe for restricted sodium diets! Others might want to add 1/2 tsp of salt or so. Very similar to store brands, including thickening properties. Not too spicy, but not bland either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 141) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Restaurant-Style Taco Meat Seasoning

Tastes just like a popular restaurant’s seasoning mix for beef tacos.

Homemade Taco Seasoning Mix

A simple taco seasoning mix that’s lower in salt than packaged mixes.

Taco Seasoning I

See how to make your own five-star taco-seasoning mix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States