Taco Seasoning II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
I really like this seasoning. It tastes a little better than the store bought stuff. However, when I'm making my ground beef and adding this stuff, I usually add water to the beef, as I'm sure most people do when they're making taco meat. There is
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
This was great. I did not have any taco seasoning on hand. It was not salty, so it was perfect. If you like salty foods, you will need to add salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Bartlett, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
This was really good. I made 2 batches and used it in my Mexican Penne Casserole. It smelled wonderful but I ended up adding 2 tsps more of the cayenne, and that hit the spot.....I will be keeping this recipe on hand now since it's a whole lot cheaper then buying the spices already mixed. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
Tastes kind of like the commercial stuff, but something's missing.... And I can't put my finger on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ajax, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
This is great to have on hand...I use it in tacos, but also lots of other main dishes, dips, even in scrambled eggs. I double the recipe and put it in a small canning jar, then just screw on th lid and shake to blend it. I've started rounding off the measurements when I double it and that works well... makes it very easy to whip up. My measurements are: 4 T. chili powder, 3 T. paprika, 3 T. ground cumin, 2 T. onion powder, 2 T. garlic powder, 1 T. cornstarch, 1/4 t. cayenne, or to taste. Also, if you're watching your sodium intake like we are, look for a chili powder where salt is NOT one of the first three ingredients... then you know you're getting a good one. I found that the chili powder in the Mexican food aisle is cheaper and salt was the last ingredient vs. a nationally known brand where salt was the 3rd ingredient!! Thanks so much for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ashtabula, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
Not a fan. I made this and it didn't seem to have the heat I'm used to with commercial taco seasonings. Needs more kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
Followed instructions exactly. It tasted great. Will do again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeffrey Olijar

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
My husband and I found this recipe quite bland. I browned the beef, then added the 7 teaspoons of the seasoning and added about a half cup of water, and let it simmer for about 30 minutes so the flavors could mingle. I liked that it had no salt, but I would like a recipe with more flavor. It very minimally seasoned the beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
Haven't bought the taco seasonings packet since I found this recipe. Whole family loves it!! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
Even though my husband and I like the Restaurant-Style Taco Meat Seasoning recipe from this site more, our kids loved this recipe more, so it's here to stay! We did add Himilayan Salt and used Chipotle Pepper (double) instead of cayenne, because we didn't have cayenne pepper on hand. I'll admit, it is slighly bland for adult tastes, but if you have kids, give this a try, they may like it more because of that. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Displaying results 41-50 (of 142) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Restaurant-Style Taco Meat Seasoning

Tastes just like a popular restaurant’s seasoning mix for beef tacos.

Homemade Taco Seasoning Mix

A simple taco seasoning mix that’s lower in salt than packaged mixes.

Taco Seasoning I

See how to make your own five-star taco-seasoning mix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States