Taco Seasoning II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
Fabulous recipe for "Taco Seasoning"! This is much better than the packaged stuff and what's really great is it's "salt free"! This recipe is perfect as is, but I love to play with stuff so I used half regular paprika and half smoked paprika, upped the cayenne a bit and added some ancho chili powder. Wow! This is a definite keeper and I found it to be even better than "Taco Seasoning I" from this site. This is perfect to store in a mini tupperware container along with my other spice mixes to have on hand. Great for tacos, seasoning chicken, throwing into chili or nachos, or anything else you can think of adding it into that might need a bit of spice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
147 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2003
Did a good job. A bit bland, you may want to add more cayenne or just make sure to serve with hot sauce in certain dishes. Do add salt if you like salt, but this way you can make the decision yourself. Thickened just fine, in fact maybe a bit faster than the packaged stuff. Used 1lb ground beef and simmered for 15 mins with 1 cup water, 7 tsp this mix to make tacoes for 4 people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alarose

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2003
This is a wonderful recipe for taco seasoning. It is absolutely delicious. So much tastier than the packaged mixes at the store, plus there is no salt or artificial ingredients. All the needed items for making this mix you'll find in your kitchen cabinets. We are big fans of Mexican food and spicy dishes. This is a versatile mix that can be used in many different ways. I haved used this to make tacos, casseroles, dips, and it has always been a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2006
I tried this tonight, since I was out of the packaged stuff. I'm always looking for cheaper, tastier, healthier alternatives to pre-packaged items...and this one fit the bill. I added salt & white pepper, a pinch of sugar, and omitted the cayenne altogether(too spicy for my kids). I make my taco meat with ground turkey, and the seasoning was just perfect. I thought it was way better than the little packets...which I won't be buying again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2003
Great! I was making a casserole that required taco seasoning and I didn't have any on hand...and once again Allrecipes came to the rescue!! This is very very close to packaged taco seasoning. The only change I made was to add salt, and than it was perfect. Remember though, this is only good if your spices are fresh and aromatic. Thanks Waco Kid for a helpful and economical recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mollycurls77

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bridgewater, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2003
I decided to try this because my 11 year old complained that the seasoning that I usually use "taco seasoning" from this site, is too hot. I was a little leary to try this because of the corn starch, but I was wrong! I did add some salt to taste, but recieved rave reviews from all the kids, including a very picky 22 month old (who ate his whole taco...well the filling anyway). Thanks Waco Kid!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2005
I hardly use store mixes because many include MSG (bad for kidneys) and other chemicals, etc. While others may prefer the taste of the store packaged mix, it maybe because of the MSG. I found that this really captured the taste of the typical taco seasoning packet without the mystery ingredients. Thanks for sharing it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
Didn't care for this. I can appreciate wanting to lower salt but removing it all together doesn't work. Also, the cumin doesn't stand out. Mexican flavors usually have more of a cumin taste. This recipe didn't work for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2007
I have tried using those taco mixes in the stores, but this is the absolute BEST. My husband I do not like spicy food and this is not too spicy at all. Great recipe that I have recommended to my friends who enjoy it also. I will never use that store bought stuff again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2009
Thanks for letting all of us Low Sodium people enjoy our Mexican food again. While most do not have to watch their sodium intake, there are many of us out here that do. It is easier to add salt then to take it away. So thank you again. Keep up the great recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lilysgranny

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lindsborg, Kansas, USA
Living In: Carrollton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 141) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Restaurant-Style Taco Meat Seasoning

Tastes just like a popular restaurant’s seasoning mix for beef tacos.

Homemade Taco Seasoning Mix

A simple taco seasoning mix that’s lower in salt than packaged mixes.

Taco Seasoning I

See how to make your own five-star taco-seasoning mix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States