Taco Seasoning I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2002
This is a fantastic seasoning recipe! Like others have mentioned, no more seasoning packets for me. The flavor was so much richer. I didn't tell anyone of the change (I cook for a family of 10) and got lots of excellent compliments. I did receive one complaint about the dish I made, but it came from from a very picky young man who thinks that Taco Bell is authentic Mexican food. :-) After the first time I used this recipe, I made up a large batch of seasoning to have on hand. It was so easy since I had all of the spices in my pantry anyway. I found that 2 *very* heaping tablespoons of the seasoning equals about one regular seasoning packet. My family likes things a little spicy though, so two regular tablespoons would probably be sufficient.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2063 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: California City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2002
This recipe was a life-saver!! After already mixing ingrediants for "seven layer taco dip," I realized that I was out of taco seasoning. Frantic, I ran to the computer and found this! YEAH!! I mixed it in with some cream cheese and sour cream to taste it first and it was great. Worked even better in the dip!! If I'd had known how easy this was, I would have been making my own taco seasoning for a while now!! The only thing I changed was reduced the chili powder to 1/2 TBLS. Very good and will make again!! Thanks Bill for posting this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
297 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2002
Excellent recipe, Bill! I would use a bit less hot pepper. This is a HOT recipe! BUT we like it! No need for those store bought "packages" anymore! What a money saver! KUDOS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2002
Awesome! My Husband and my children really, really liked it. I will be making a huge batch for future meals. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2002
This was incredible. I didn't have crushed red pepper flakes so I used more chili powder in place of that and I had no onion powder so I added more garlic powder instead. I was using a 1/2 pound of ground beef and added a big heaping teaspoon of seasoning and it was PERFECT. Very spicy but not too spicy. You've got to try this recipe, the premixed packets aren't any better then this and it takes no time to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2002
This is so much easier than buying it at the store. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wrapdiva

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2002
This is excellent. It definitely tastes like the packet I usually used (will use this from now on). We mixed 1 lb. of browned-and-drained ground beef, this seasoning mix, plus a mixture of 2 tsp. of cornstarch and 2/3 cup of cold water. Then, we left it on low until all of it was warm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
355 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2002
wow...this is really good...taste just like the stuff you get from the store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Byron Center, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2002
Excellent!!!!m I'll never buy the packages again! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2002
This is excellent and *no* MSG! I usually mix it fresh each time and use actual garlic and onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Living In: Olsburg, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 3,278) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Restaurant-Style Taco Meat Seasoning

Tastes just like a popular restaurant’s seasoning mix for beef tacos.

Homemade Taco Seasoning Mix

A simple taco seasoning mix that’s lower in salt than packaged mixes.

Taco Seasoning I

See how to make your own five-star taco-seasoning mix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States