Taco Seasoning I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
i can't believe I haven't rated this yet!!!!!!!!! This is my go-to taco seasoning. No need to buy the stuff in the store, everyone has all the ingredients to make this! The only thing I omit is the black pepper because that isn't very "Mexican" I don't think!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2014
Have made this twice now and I love it. Only modifications (per others' suggestions): add 1/2 tsp flour to mix and 1/2 - 2/3 cup water to meat after sprinkling seasoning on. Thanks to OP and reviewers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Cheshire, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2014
I will never buy taco seasoning again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2014
This recipe is absolutely DELICIOUS! The spices are flavorful, but not overwhelming, just the way I like my taco seasoning! I like how there is a hint of spice in the mix as well. Thanks for a great recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hannah Wangler

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
So GLAD I found this! I only omitted the Cumin, but followed the rest as written. The entire family loved it! I drained the beef of fat and added water and seasonings, then thickened with a bit of flour and water. Just perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
Good basic Mex style seasoning blend
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
No need to ever buy packets of taco seasoning again. This is great. I did take the advice of others and doubled the chili powder. I now make this in bulk and keep a container of it so I have it handy for all my mexican dishes that call for taco flavored meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2014
This taco seasoning is the best! We don't even buy any store brand anymore (La Preferida was our preferred before this). One thing to note: I use the entire recipe for 1.25 lbs. ground beef. After browning the beef, I drain it, wipe the pan out and then add the beef back to the hot pan. I then add the seasoning and a cup of water, bring it to a simmer and let it simmer for 15-20 minutes. Also, because I like it saucier, I add a thickener. I looked at the store brands and most include corn masa, which is a thickener. You can pick up a couple pound bag of corn masa for about a buck and a half, and it will last you for hundreds of recipes - or you can try your hand at making tortillas! What I do is measure out all the other ingredients using a digital scale and then add enough masa to bring the total weight up to 1.25 ounces - which is the weight listed on most of the store bought taco seasoning blends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tony Lucarelli

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2014
I've tried several different taco seasoning recipes BUT this is the only one I now use. I absolutely love the flavor, however the only thing I did different was I used dried minced onions instead of onion power, also I added about 1-2 TBSP of flour to thicken it up some. So happy to have found this recipe, will never buy packaged again. I served this over Mexican rice, topped with chopped black olives, tomatoes and a little sour cream...DELISH!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terri Hero Jones

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2014
Great flavor! Like others, we ran out of packaged taco seasoning so tried this. My 13 year old says it's better than Taco Bell. We loved it and will use it for tacos from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 3,308) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Restaurant-Style Taco Meat Seasoning

Tastes just like a popular restaurant’s seasoning mix for beef tacos.

Homemade Taco Seasoning Mix

A simple taco seasoning mix that’s lower in salt than packaged mixes.

Taco Seasoning I

See how to make your own five-star taco-seasoning mix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States