Taco Seasoning I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
I featured this recipe on my blog as a thrifty alternative to packaged seasonings... and much better! I added double the red pepper flakes and left out the salt completely. Love it! http://nikkieandbabies.blogspot.com/
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole Kidd

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
Loved this. Ridiculously easy and cheap. I added a tablespoon of flour to make it thicken slightly when it cooked and added a quarter cup of water to the pound of ground meat. I make several batches at a time and store them in plastic baggies to use as needed. This is so much better than the store bought versions and I really hate paying for packaging and advertising that I can't eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
My very picky DH raved about this taco seasoning. All the ingredients are already in my pantry. Can't go wrong with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
As most have said this taco seasoning is amazing. Only thing I would do different the next time I make it, and I will only use this from now on, is I would halve the salt. Too salty for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
My go-to 'Mexican' seasoning! I sub cayenne for the red pepper flakes (I never like biting into one of those, so the ground works just as well). If I'm making fajitas or pork I usually add an extra 1/2 TBS of cumin to knock up the flavor. Also use this in homemade black beans, refried beans, Mexican rice, and burrito filling. The taste is so much better than the packaged stuff--you're able to control the sodium and spice levels so everyone is happy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
Great base and easy to modify. I like this recipe better than the taco seasoning packets that you can buy in the store. I usually add some cayenne or chipotle chile powder, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
I had every ingredient for this- EXCEPT the crushed red pepper flakes which I am not a fan of! But I was SO happy! But even happier after making the tacos! This recipe is beyond excellent! I did not use salt- I think the chili powder has a "salty" taste on its own (there is no salt in it) ... so I omitted the salt here. Just as I do with home-made fajita seasoning- I do not include salt for health reasons. Here is a tip- for those whom enjoy spicier tacos / latin meals---- use 3 or 4 drops of Tapatio hot sauce when the ground beef is done - just before you add this awesome seasoning. Maybe 3 for starters. Tapatio is NOT hot but just "warm" enough for a bit of a kick. I do not suggest american hot sauces for Latin food. BUT- back to this recipe....I measured everything just as listed and it was fantastic. I felt so good about making a seasoning on my own without the sodium that is contained in manufactured, " store-bought" seasonings. The cumin is the beauty here. And yes I did use black pepper. I simply had the stuff in my kitchen to make these tacos magic. I kid you not! Try and enjoy! Even if you have to go and buy these seasonings- you can find them at very low prices. Some less than a dollar! Its well worth it for your health and for the unique, fresh taste of something home-made- instead of a taco "kit" or a manufactured brand of seasoning---oh! ....wait....one tip,,,,add just 1/3 cup ?? of water and simmer until evaporated. GOOD LUCK! and ,,,,Peace and love- "Jenny"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
Oh man.....i used fresh oregano in this recipe and used about 3 TBLS for my 1 lbs of burger and it was hands down the best tacos ever! I plan to make this in bulk and never buy the pre-packaged stuff again! YUMMY!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
Make it all the time, cutting out fat I used turkey meat and adds so much flavor! The seasoning is perfect. Magnificent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
Perfection! I made four times the amount and have it stored. One thing I added was 1 tsp corn starch diluted in 1/2 cup cold water and added at the end to thicken it up. I use grass fed beef so it is very lean and quite dry so this added some moisture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 3,256) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Taco Seasoning Mix

A simple taco seasoning mix that’s lower in salt than packaged mixes.

Restaurant-Style Taco Meat Seasoning

Tastes just like a popular restaurant’s seasoning mix for beef tacos.

Taco Seasoning I

See how to make your own five-star taco-seasoning mix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States