Taco Seasoning I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
Good basic Mex style seasoning blend
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
No need to ever buy packets of taco seasoning again. This is great. I did take the advice of others and doubled the chili powder. I now make this in bulk and keep a container of it so I have it handy for all my mexican dishes that call for taco flavored meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2014
This taco seasoning is the best! We don't even buy any store brand anymore (La Preferida was our preferred before this). One thing to note: I use the entire recipe for 1.25 lbs. ground beef. After browning the beef, I drain it, wipe the pan out and then add the beef back to the hot pan. I then add the seasoning and a cup of water, bring it to a simmer and let it simmer for 15-20 minutes. Also, because I like it saucier, I add a thickener. I looked at the store brands and most include corn masa, which is a thickener. You can pick up a couple pound bag of corn masa for about a buck and a half, and it will last you for hundreds of recipes - or you can try your hand at making tortillas! What I do is measure out all the other ingredients using a digital scale and then add enough masa to bring the total weight up to 1.25 ounces - which is the weight listed on most of the store bought taco seasoning blends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tony Lucarelli

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2014
I've tried several different taco seasoning recipes BUT this is the only one I now use. I absolutely love the flavor, however the only thing I did different was I used dried minced onions instead of onion power, also I added about 1-2 TBSP of flour to thicken it up some. So happy to have found this recipe, will never buy packaged again. I served this over Mexican rice, topped with chopped black olives, tomatoes and a little sour cream...DELISH!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terri Hero Jones

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2014
Great flavor! Like others, we ran out of packaged taco seasoning so tried this. My 13 year old says it's better than Taco Bell. We loved it and will use it for tacos from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2014
I will never buy another packet of seasoning again! My family loved the taste and now I'll always have it in my cupboard ready to use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2014
Mixed this mildly hot taco seasoning into a little mayonnaise and tossed some chicken chunks into it. Used this mixture in soft tacos with lettuce and tomato and a bit of sour cream. Family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth Lambert

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Acton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
I upped the garlic and onion powder a bit and omitted the red pepper flakes for the kiddos sake. Great flavor! Used this on chicken for tostadas...yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
awsome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nathan Cox

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 3,303) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Restaurant-Style Taco Meat Seasoning

Tastes just like a popular restaurant’s seasoning mix for beef tacos.

Homemade Taco Seasoning Mix

A simple taco seasoning mix that’s lower in salt than packaged mixes.

Taco Seasoning I

See how to make your own five-star taco-seasoning mix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States