Taco Seasoning I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 19)
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
Excellent flavor...much better than the packets from the store. Just need to make big batches to have it on hand. 2 tablespoons seasoning mix mixed with 1/2 tablespoon flour sprinkled over the browned meat and some onion...add 2/3 cup water...stir well and let simmer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gtyyup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Living In: Princeton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KarvinKitchen
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
A favorite! I triple the recipe and store in an air-tight container for later meals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KarvinKitchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
This recipe is taped inside my cupboard. You must have this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
I no longer buy packaged seasoning. This is so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara Salvati

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
Made it exactly as the recipe calls for and it did have a touch of a bite to it so if you have one of those really picky kids that doesn't like any hint of spice, not for them, but it was great. Next time though I may add some more spicy flavors since I like the hotter the better, but definitely good and less grainy than the packaged stuff. It leaves room for adjustments based on taste buds too which is great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
This seasoning mix is fabulous!! I have always used prepackaged mixes, but since going gluten free that is no longer an option. This recipe was so much better than any prepackaged mix I have ever used! I did omit the onion powder and garlic powder in favor of using fresh. I sauteed my onion and garlic in a little olive oil then put in 1 lb of ground grass fed beef and just added the seasoning directly to the meat. Putting it in before the meat was browned allowed for the seasoning to really flavor the meat. I didn't need to add any kind of thickener or water using this method.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2013
I found myself with taco plans and no seasoning packs. Rather than run to the store I googled "taco seasoning" and found this recipe. I had all the ingredients and doubled it for 3 lbs. of ground beef. I did not add flour as I'm on a wheat free diet. We could tell as soon as the spices and water were simmering that it was going to be delicious. Not just the smell, but we couldn't resist tasters while the liquid cooked down. I truthfully don't believe I'll use packaged taco seasoning again, this was just way too easy, convenient and delicious! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2013
We ran out of the store bought taco mix just before making dinner so I went to allrecipes.com and found this! I had all the spices so no reason to get the store bought stuff anymore. I used a little less salt than this recipe called for
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Little Miss Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2013
Forgot to add this to my recipe box and had to search for it. Glad I found it again because I refuse to buy the overly salted packaged stuff anymore. This works perfectly and couldn't be any easier to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cherry Hill, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Longview, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2013
I used 1/8 t cayenne pepper in place of red pepper as suggested. Very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spencerport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 181-190 (of 3,177) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Taco Seasoning Mix

A simple taco seasoning mix that’s lower in salt than packaged mixes.

Restaurant-Style Taco Meat Seasoning

Tastes just like a popular restaurant’s seasoning mix for beef tacos.

Taco Seasoning I

See how to make your own five-star taco-seasoning mix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States