Taco Seasoning I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 18)
Reviewed: May 8, 2014
This is our go-to recipe for taco seasoning. No more store-bought versions for me. I usually have all these ingredients on hand, so this is very easy to whip up -- and then use as little or as much as preferred. That being said, I always pretty much go by the recipe's guidelines. Well, tonight I realized I couldn't do that, as I lacked a couple of ingredients after I recently performed a huge purge of past-expiry spices (and hadn't had a chance to replace them). Unwilling to foray out to the grocery store in rush-hour traffic, I decided to substitute a Tablespoon of Cholula hot sauce for the chili powder (BTW, who in Texas runs out of chili powder, am I right?) and a heaping Tablespoon of instant (dried) chopped onions for the onion powder -- then, b/c of the wet ingredient (Cholula), I gave the mixture a good stir and let it sit for about 15 minutes to reconstitute the dried onions and let the other flavors meld. It all came out WONDERFUL. I was worried the vinegar in the hot sauce would overpower the other flavors -- but it was fine. Still, I'm going back to the original recipe ... that is, when I have the proper ingredients on hand. Two noms up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2014
I've tinkered with this recipe for about a year and have found my favourite blend. I substitute 1/4 to 1/2 tsp of Chipotle Chili Powder in place of the red pepper flakes AND the black pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2014
OMG!!!!!! This was the BEST homemade seasoning ever. We made Turkey Tacos, and we could not stop eating them. In fact I'm making another batch of taco's today to have again. LOVE LOVE
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rarry

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lighthouse Point, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2014
This is really great! I didn't have onion powder, so I used dry minced onions which I will continue to use! No more packaged seasoning mixes for my family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2014
Wonderful recipe! I made the following changes, I tripled all ingredients! I add about 3 tabledpoons to a pound of browned ground beef after draining. Then I add a tablespoon of olive oil to the meat to spread the flavor. I use this seasoning in many dishs! Thanks Bill!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2014
Easily the best tacos I have ever tasted. It is a fairly healthy recipe, no one ingredient has a lot of sodium. I don't find it spicy, but my girlfriend does, so feel free to cut out the red pepper flakes. Also be warned of adjusting the recipe, the site does not do well with 1/8 of a teaspoon, so if you increase to 1.5 ounces, some ingredients will remain at 1/4 of a teaspoon instead of 3/8 of a teaspoon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2014
Best taco seasoning hands down. Loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Heather
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
It's SO easy! You control the salt and ingredients. I used a little too much pepper but it was still wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
Thank you for a wonderful recipe. I first tried this in 2011 and have never bought the packaged stuff since!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deborah Merrels

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Fayetteville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
I just made this and will never buy packets with all of their preservatives, dyes etc again! It is a great base recipe and can be tweaked from there. My daughter loves cumin so we added more and more chili and cayenne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 171-180 (of 3,363) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Homemade Taco Seasoning Mix

A simple taco seasoning mix that’s lower in salt than packaged mixes.

Restaurant-Style Taco Meat Seasoning

Tastes just like a popular restaurant’s seasoning mix for beef tacos.

Taco Seasoning I

See how to make your own five-star taco-seasoning mix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States