Taco Seasoning I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
I ran out of taco seasoning packets while freezer cooking the other day. I found this recipe and tried it. I love it! I don't think I'll ever go back to the packets again. I'm sure this has a lot less sodium anyway! I'm a wimp when it comes to spice so next time I'll tone it down a bit but the flavor is excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
Exactly what I needed; measured it directly into the pan as I browned the hamburger. Let it simmer in the seasoning/fat for a while before draining off the fat. It was fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenpete
Living In: Lake Oswego, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
This is perfect taco seasoning. I flipped over the store brand and a well known brand of taco seasoning packets and the ingredients are not great. There's a lot of salt and MSG in them. I decided I could find a better recipe online and this one was perfect! I already had everything at home. It was just a matter of knowing how much of each spice to use. I used it on ground turkey which has little flavor to begin with. After adding the seasoning you wouldn't know it's not beef. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
Wow, I have always used pkg taco season but not after tonight. I made this recipe as followed and it came out delicious. My entire family commented on how great it tasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
Made this today rather than using the store-bought stuff. Not as good as other seasonings I tried, but still better than the store bought stuff. If I made it again, I'd probably go lighter on the salt and the chili powder, both overpowered everything else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
I featured this recipe on my blog as a thrifty alternative to packaged seasonings... and much better! I added double the red pepper flakes and left out the salt completely. Love it! http://nikkieandbabies.blogspot.com/
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole Kidd

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
Loved this. Ridiculously easy and cheap. I added a tablespoon of flour to make it thicken slightly when it cooked and added a quarter cup of water to the pound of ground meat. I make several batches at a time and store them in plastic baggies to use as needed. This is so much better than the store bought versions and I really hate paying for packaging and advertising that I can't eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
My very picky DH raved about this taco seasoning. All the ingredients are already in my pantry. Can't go wrong with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
As most have said this taco seasoning is amazing. Only thing I would do different the next time I make it, and I will only use this from now on, is I would halve the salt. Too salty for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
My go-to 'Mexican' seasoning! I sub cayenne for the red pepper flakes (I never like biting into one of those, so the ground works just as well). If I'm making fajitas or pork I usually add an extra 1/2 TBS of cumin to knock up the flavor. Also use this in homemade black beans, refried beans, Mexican rice, and burrito filling. The taste is so much better than the packaged stuff--you're able to control the sodium and spice levels so everyone is happy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 3,251) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Taco Seasoning Mix

A simple taco seasoning mix that’s lower in salt than packaged mixes.

Restaurant-Style Taco Meat Seasoning

Tastes just like a popular restaurant’s seasoning mix for beef tacos.

Taco Seasoning I

See how to make your own five-star taco-seasoning mix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States