Taco Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Jacolyn
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
This has a good flavor and would taste fine on tacos, I think. However, as you can see by the color of the "sauce" in my picture, it is not the typical tomato-based taco sauce that comes in packets with your taco shells. Since I was using this as an ingredient for another recipe (Chicken Ole from this site), I added a few squirts of ketchup to give it the tomato flavor I would normally expect. (However, I did try the sauce without it and thought it was good without the ketchup too.) Additionally, I followed the advice of other reviewers to double the spice amounts and use 1/4 cup olive oil and 1/4 cup canola oil instead of just the olive oil. Next time I may add a few dashes of chili powder and paprika if I want a more traditional "taco sauce" flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacolyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beacon, New York, USA
Living In: Fishkill, New York, USA
Reviewed: May 13, 2014
I liked it. Helped me out in a pinch as I had no sauce or salsa. Did seem a bit too oily as I spooned it on, but it tasted great and I will make it again. Oh also we were out of Cheyenne so I used Cajun seasoning. Gonna put it in a squeeze bottle and label, shake well. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
This is a great recipe! I used it for guacamole too! Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2012
Works great with enchiladas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
oh my gosh, thank you soooo much. I love Pancho's taco sauce and I hate buying it in the store because it is costly compared to the amount we like to use. I'm going to try it tonight!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Collierville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2010
Used this for a fajita pizza, but If I was making tacos I would have been very disappointed. It was not like traditional taco sauce. Great for a pizza tough, just brush the dough with it and sprinkle a bit over the toppings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jsierschula

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
I wouldn't call this a taco sauce sorry, and there needs to be more seasoning in the mixture & waaaay less oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Passion4food

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2010
thank you VERY much for this! KEVINLEE91 is from West Memphis, AR, so I'm hoping that this is a recipe for the taco sauce at Pancho's Tacos in the Memphis/West Memphis area. I grew up eating these tacos and have never had their equal. Plan on making a batch of this and keeping it in the fridge. Will add it to the bland, flavorless tacos I sometimes have to get from Taco Hell. KEVINLEE91, you've made my day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
It took some adjusting. We like some spices more than others. But this recipe works great in a pinch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
I used this recipe, with a couple alterations, as the sauce on a taco pizza and it turned out great! I doubled the recipe since it makes such a small batch, but I kept the amount of oil the same since it seemed like too much to me. I actually used 1/4 c olive oil and 1/4 c canola oil so the olive oil flavor wasn't so overpowering. I added one tsp of chili powder and about 2 Tblsp of ketchup to thicken it up and balance out the flavor a little bit. It turned out great! Now it's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Potomac, Illinois, USA
Living In: Saint Joseph, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ten Minute Enchilada Sauce

See how to make a speedy enchilada sauce with authentic flavor.

Homemade Taco Seasoning Mix

A simple taco seasoning mix that’s lower in salt than packaged mixes.

How to Make Mole Sauce

See how to make an authentic mole sauce, Oaxaca-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States