Taco Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
Good recipe and I use ground beef or chicken for the carnivores! sour cream adds to the pleasure of some as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2011
I was kind of weird about using the vegie burger meat so instead I cooked up some cut up chicken breast, put the taco seasoning in it, and let it cool down before putting in my salad. Try putting crumbled cheese doritos on it instead of the corn tortilla chips, it gives it a really good favor and still the crunch. Also I always put lite western dressing over top of taco salad, and some black olives of course, its soooo good. I know I pretty much changed the whole recipe but the main reason I looked it up was cause I forgot what kind of beans go in it. I hope this helps. :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
MMm, this was REALLY yummy! I didn't use the tomatoes, however. I was too lazy and thought the salsa would cut it, but it didn't.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phasahd

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pitt Meadows, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2008
This was a great starter recipe! I definitely prefer the beans/"meat" to be warm, so I cooked on the stove top. I also added a packet of cooked mexican rice to this mix so there was a grain in the meal. With sour cream and an avocado, this was a HUGE hit with the family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mistress Nicci

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Red Oak, Texas, USA
Living In: Euless, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2008
This was good being vegetarian i've never had taco salad. And my friend used to make it with thousand island dressing which i don't like. Idid cook veg. crumbles before hand with the seasoning and let cool.I use the taco seasoning 1 on this site instaed of packets. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Simi Valley, California, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2007
This was just lovely. Had a great time eating it. Just add a soup and a wonderful light dinner is ready. I crumbled and cooked soya burgers that I had. Skipped the cheese and added an avocado instead. Delicious. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
Though we love the idea of a taco salad this one was not our favorite. The taco seasoning was a little overwelming so I would have used less. Adding a layer of avocado, olives or sour cream would have made it more interesting. The concept was a good one but the recipe needs some tweaking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J Walter Jones

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pleasanton, California, USA
Living In: Seville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2003
I recently hosted a salad/dessert buffet. I knew I had two ladies coming that were "finicky" about eating ground beef. This was a great solution to the problem of ground beef in a Taco Salad. Neither my guests, nor myself knew that vegetarian burger crumbles existed. People loved this. I served sour cream, thousand island dressing and guacamole on the side. This was sooo yummy!Thanks Katherine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2001
Thanks for the recipe. I will be needing some vegetarian recipes for a camp I will be cooking at this summer and this recipe will definately be one I will use. Thanks much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Taco Salad I

See how to make a delicious taco salad with a twist.

Pasta Salad with Avocado and Tomato

See how to make a fresh pasta salad with avocadoes, tomato, and mozzarella.

Taco Casserole

This cheesy, family favorite is the perfect weeknight casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States