Taco Salad with Ranch Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2003
This is very good, quick and easy! I had hamburger on hand, so instead of chicken I browned 1lb of hamburger, added about 1/4c. salsa and 1/3 pkg taco seasoning and cooked on med-low for a couple of minutes. I tossed the salad, cheese, chips and olives with the ranch/salsa mixture and topped it with the taco meat. Yum! Next time I will add tomatoes & avacado!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2003
I misread the recipe & thought that it had a home made dressing, by that, I mean not just salad ingredients mixed together with ranch dressing. Needless to say, as it was my own fault for misreading it, I was disappointed. I normally use Hidden Valley's Fiesta Ranch (which rocks over this) for a taco salad because it is more than just ranch dressing with chili powder added, and serve in tortilla shell "bowls". Sorry Sara. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2003
Very good. I left the chili powder out by accident, but still good. Much less fattening than taco salad with sour cream since I used lite dressing. My husband didn't seem to notice the switch either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2008
I made the low fat buttermilk ranch dressing recipe from this site for the salad. I omitted the black olives and used garden fresh veggies (roma tomatoes, cucumbers, green peppers). Instead of crushed tortilla chips, I topped with store bought crushed buttermilk ranch pretzels bits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2001
This was very simple to prepare and my husband and I both thought it was very delicious! (However, I recommend that you use less Ranch dressing, as it was a bit too much for us.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2004
This recipe was good although I did find that there was a bit too much ranch dressing in it. I will definitely make again but won't use as much dressing. I also cooked the chicken in taco mix and it added some extra flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPORTSNUT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pembroke, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2003
I highly recommend this recipe. I used it at a potluck and it was highly praised.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2001
I made this the other night and my family just loved it. This recipe is so easy and could easily be adjusted to make more.I will make this salad as often as my family asks for it because I loved it most of all. It was yummy! Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2002
Very easy and so tasty! This is one of our new favorite recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2010
Ok......this recipe is so good just the way it is. (I made it) But, when I went to make for the second time........I wanted to make it more substantial and healthy so I added: one red onion cooked until brown and crispy, 1/2 can organic red kidney beans mixed in while I cooked the chicken strips in a little olive oil and taco seasoning, one chopped avocado, 2 chopped tomatoes. So delicious!!! And thank you previous poster for directions on the "tortilla bowl".....my teenagers loved it. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HB Sue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pasadena, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Taco Salad I

See how to make a delicious taco salad with a twist.

Spinach Salad with Hot Bacon Dressing

Watch how to make spinach salad with tangy, hot-bacon dressing.

Kale, Quinoa, Avocado Salad with Dijon Dressing

Loaded with super foods, there’s a ton of good stuff in this healthy salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States