Taco Salad Made Over Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2014
Really good combination , like the beans for extra protein . A little high in sodium still trying to find a way to cut that . I love the 6 serving option lol especially the amount of cheese I would have to eat ;-). If you struggle with the bowl serve on greens in a bowl and use chips or bake your own chops from tortillas which is the healthier option . Not too fond of ranch I sub greek yogurt for that .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
I made this just for me, leaving the boys to their own "taco smiles". I was feeling kind of lazy, so I just used a pizza cutter to cut my whole wheat tortilla into small pieces and threw it in the bowl with my other ingredients. I didn't have store bought dressing, I used a tablespoon of my own low calorie ranch dressing that I mixed two tablespoons of homemade salsa. I just love taco salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
6 servings requires 43 cups? Apparently the Calculate link on this one is extremely off the mark. Quantity for 4 servings is correct-2 TBl..if you're increasing the portions, it's 1/2 tbl of dressing for each serving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2010
Pretty good recipe. My husband loved it. I found the taco shells kinda' a pain to bake,..the little tin-foil balls kept sliding out from under the shell. Messy and yummy, probably good for kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SillyMonkey

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Brantford, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
This is a quick and easy meal to make for those nights when you don't have alot of time to spend in the kitchen. I substitute the lettuce for yellow rice instead and make a vegetable salad as a side dish Very filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
Another lowfat option for replacing the fried taco shells is using Chapatis. I use the recipe from this site and then bake them on our flat top gridle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by frenchgirl
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
A good, basic recipe. I made a few changes, though: I did not use tortillas but tortilla chips ; I added some allspice and red pepper to beef while cooking it, and not nearly as much chili powder ; I sprinkled the salad with chopped black olives and topped it with dollops of sour cream and guacamole. Black pepper to taste -and no ranch dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by frenchgirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dijon, Bourgogne, France
Living In: Boulder, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
The shells were too hard. Don't know if need to use them when they come right out of the oven??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
Awesome recipe, very easy and just what we were looking for. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shantal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Taco Salad I

See how to make a delicious taco salad with a twist.

Taco Pie

All your favorite taco fixings in a yummy, cheesy casserole.

Taco Soup II

A flavorful taco soup with ground beef, taco seasoning, beans, and green chiles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States