Taco Salad Made Over Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2014
Really good combination , like the beans for extra protein . A little high in sodium still trying to find a way to cut that . I love the 6 serving option lol especially the amount of cheese I would have to eat ;-). If you struggle with the bowl serve on greens in a bowl and use chips or bake your own chops from tortillas which is the healthier option . Not too fond of ranch I sub greek yogurt for that .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
I made this just for me, leaving the boys to their own "taco smiles". I was feeling kind of lazy, so I just used a pizza cutter to cut my whole wheat tortilla into small pieces and threw it in the bowl with my other ingredients. I didn't have store bought dressing, I used a tablespoon of my own low calorie ranch dressing that I mixed two tablespoons of homemade salsa. I just love taco salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
6 servings requires 43 cups? Apparently the Calculate link on this one is extremely off the mark. Quantity for 4 servings is correct-2 TBl..if you're increasing the portions, it's 1/2 tbl of dressing for each serving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2010
Pretty good recipe. My husband loved it. I found the taco shells kinda' a pain to bake,..the little tin-foil balls kept sliding out from under the shell. Messy and yummy, probably good for kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SillyMonkey

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Brantford, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
This is a quick and easy meal to make for those nights when you don't have alot of time to spend in the kitchen. I substitute the lettuce for yellow rice instead and make a vegetable salad as a side dish Very filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
Another lowfat option for replacing the fried taco shells is using Chapatis. I use the recipe from this site and then bake them on our flat top gridle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by frenchgirl
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
A good, basic recipe. I made a few changes, though: I did not use tortillas but tortilla chips ; I added some allspice and red pepper to beef while cooking it, and not nearly as much chili powder ; I sprinkled the salad with chopped black olives and topped it with dollops of sour cream and guacamole. Black pepper to taste -and no ranch dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by frenchgirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dijon, Bourgogne, France
Living In: Boulder, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
The shells were too hard. Don't know if need to use them when they come right out of the oven??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
Awesome recipe, very easy and just what we were looking for. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shantal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Taco Salad I

See how to make a delicious taco salad with a twist.

Taco Pie

All your favorite taco fixings in a yummy, cheesy casserole.

Slow Cooker Taco Soup

See how to make a 5-star, beefy taco soup with beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States