Taco Salad III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 24, 2015
This recipe is awesome! The best out there. However there is one thing I do different that makes a big difference. After cooking the ground beef and adding the taco seasoning, I then add the beans and the Catalina dressing. This is refrigerated over night. The meat soaks up the dressing so it's not too soggy. The day of serving add the other ingredients. I then crush taco flavored Doritos and add them right before serving. If you had chips to any portion that will be left over, they will be soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2015
This was a delicious, one-dish salad for supper. I preferred just adding all of the ingredients to the top of the butter lettuce mix I had as opposed to mixing them all up. I'm sure that would work great for a crowd, though. I used leftover sloppy joe mix, because I like to use what I have on hand. In place of the pinto beans, I used light red kidney beans. I liberally sprinkled homemade taco seasoning mix over the salad before adding the dressing. The Catalina dressing works really well here, and I used my own homemade version from another site. I also used tortilla chips instead of corn chips. Thanks for the great recipe, Melanie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
This was very good. I did everything as written. The only thing I would change next time is to reduce the amount of red onion, or perhaps dice it instead of slicing it. It was just a but much. Otherwise, very yummy! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ilikefrenchies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 9, 2014
My guests loved this dish and asked for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
Very good. Mixed the pintos into the meat mixture. Served everything on the side so everyone could add what they liked. And I could keep the salad and it would be good the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2013
Oh my gosh, the dressing is soooo good! I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
VERY GOOD.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: San Marcos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2013
Delicious, only used one can of black beans instead of kidney and pinto beans. Makes a lot of salad I halved the recipe and we still had lots left but its not a salad that's good the second day. I also made the salad again later on in the week and made it vegetarian by adding taco seasoning to my can of beans. Still tasted great. Another tip is I use the taco seasoning recipe on this site and make a large batch of it, you will never have to buy those individual packets again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2013
I have used a recipe like this for 35 years. Anyone who doesn't like this try using ranch dressing!!!! I'm sure you will give it a 10 star rating. Sure to hit the spot on a hot day. Thanks Melanie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2013
Big fan! I didn't use catalina dressing. Instead I used about half cup of salsa. I don't normally rate recipes that I have altered but I have had a similar taco salad with catalina so I know that it's good. My boys gobbled this up fast! We will make this again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Volleyballmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 139) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Taco Salad I

See how to make a delicious taco salad with a twist.

Taco Soup II

A flavorful taco soup with ground beef, taco seasoning, beans, and green chiles.

Chicken Salad with Bacon, Lettuce, and Tomato

Kickin' chicken BLT salad, oh my!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States