Taco Salad III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
Made this for the family tonite and it got rave reviews even from my 7yr old who is a picky eater. Added sour cream on top for even a bigger yum factor. This is quick and easy to make plus it is delicious!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fivestarchef

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
I left out the red onion, and used one large can of Bush's chili beans, green leaf lettuce, and Fritos Scoops. While the Scoops held up very well, the green leaf lettuce wilted a lot more than I think the iceberg would have. It was very good, but the leftovers weren't worth saving. I will make it again, but will serve the lettuce separately next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2010
Family-approved, but I only add 1 can of beans (kidney), and about 4 oz of catalina.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by atla

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lawrenceburg, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Mchenry, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
Oh how I've missed you, recipe! I think this was first popular in the 60's? I had actually forgotten about it (and lost the recipe) until a friend asked me if I had that taco salad recipe my g'ma used to make, so I went looking. I followed the recipe with the exception of leaving out the avacado and green onions only because I completely forgot to pick them up from the store, and YES, that bummed me pretty bad. Like many, I combined everything but the lettuce and dressing, since I cook for just me and knew there would be many portions. It only lacked a bit of "bite" so I did add some Louisiana Hot Sauce at the end. Thanks for the memories!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mimosa ain't no PRO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Texarkana, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
Made it, loved it. We like chopped black olives, will add that next time. Will use less dressing next time. Had leftovers. Will have bowl of lettuce separate from bean, meat, onion, dressing, etc. mixture. Serve Fritos on the side so they don't get soggy. Teens say it is all mixed at grad parties, goes quickly! My daughter likes hers with sour cream and taco sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2010
This is a great, basic Taco Salad! Big suggestion though -leave out the dressing! It's delicious served with your favorite Salsa, some sour cream, and avocado or fresh made guacamole. The flavors come to life and it cuts out extra fat and sugar that comes in the salad dressing. Refried beans are a great replacement for the whole beans too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2010
This was very easy to make, and was more than enough for my family of 4. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CrawfordMom06

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2010
Perfect for lunch! I used some left over chili I had on hand vs. ground beef and canned beans. I layered everything over the lettuce and added tortilla chips vs. corn chips and topped it with a bit of sour cream and "Smoked Paprika Vinaigrette" from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2010
good. i gave 3 starts because 1 whole bottle of catalina dressing was just too much, i'd use half that amount. i did like the catalina in it though. i had taco shells instead of chips, so put it in the taco shell bowl and then break off some bowl and put it in the salad, eat some, break off more, and so on. next time i would cut down on the onion too. this recipe has endless possibilities!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cuyahoga Falls, Ohio, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2010
Like, the BEST TACO SALAD I have ever had! I made a lot of it, because it sounded soo good. And come to find out..... i still didnt make enough! I never make anything but this recipe when it comes to tacos :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Battle Creek, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 135) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Taco Salad I

See how to make a delicious taco salad with a twist.

Taco Pizza from Pillsbury® Pizza Crust

Taco and pizza nights come together in one delicious, cheesy pizza.

Taco Soup II

A flavorful taco soup with ground beef, taco seasoning, beans, and green chiles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States