Taco Salad III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
This taco salad was fantastic! Simple, every-day ingredients so it made it real easy to make. I loved the Catalina dressing on the salad, and I think that is what sets this taco salad apart from many others because of the unique taste. Some people said that they thought the Catalina was a bit off for a taco salad, but that is the key ingredient in making it different than your typical taco salad. Will definitely make again. AND my son ate his whole plate - WOW!! Thanks for the wonderful recipe, Melanie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
Excellent! Add avacados and green onions for extra flavor. YUM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
Made this for the family tonite and it got rave reviews even from my 7yr old who is a picky eater. Added sour cream on top for even a bigger yum factor. This is quick and easy to make plus it is delicious!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fivestarchef

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
I left out the red onion, and used one large can of Bush's chili beans, green leaf lettuce, and Fritos Scoops. While the Scoops held up very well, the green leaf lettuce wilted a lot more than I think the iceberg would have. It was very good, but the leftovers weren't worth saving. I will make it again, but will serve the lettuce separately next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2010
Family-approved, but I only add 1 can of beans (kidney), and about 4 oz of catalina.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by atla

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lawrenceburg, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Mchenry, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
Oh how I've missed you, recipe! I think this was first popular in the 60's? I had actually forgotten about it (and lost the recipe) until a friend asked me if I had that taco salad recipe my g'ma used to make, so I went looking. I followed the recipe with the exception of leaving out the avacado and green onions only because I completely forgot to pick them up from the store, and YES, that bummed me pretty bad. Like many, I combined everything but the lettuce and dressing, since I cook for just me and knew there would be many portions. It only lacked a bit of "bite" so I did add some Louisiana Hot Sauce at the end. Thanks for the memories!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mimosa ain't no PRO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Texarkana, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
Made it, loved it. We like chopped black olives, will add that next time. Will use less dressing next time. Had leftovers. Will have bowl of lettuce separate from bean, meat, onion, dressing, etc. mixture. Serve Fritos on the side so they don't get soggy. Teens say it is all mixed at grad parties, goes quickly! My daughter likes hers with sour cream and taco sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2010
This is a great, basic Taco Salad! Big suggestion though -leave out the dressing! It's delicious served with your favorite Salsa, some sour cream, and avocado or fresh made guacamole. The flavors come to life and it cuts out extra fat and sugar that comes in the salad dressing. Refried beans are a great replacement for the whole beans too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2010
This was very easy to make, and was more than enough for my family of 4. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CrawfordMom06

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2010
Perfect for lunch! I used some left over chili I had on hand vs. ground beef and canned beans. I layered everything over the lettuce and added tortilla chips vs. corn chips and topped it with a bit of sour cream and "Smoked Paprika Vinaigrette" from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 137) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Taco Salad I

See how to make a delicious taco salad with a twist.

Taco Soup II

A flavorful taco soup with ground beef, taco seasoning, beans, and green chiles.

Chicken Salad with Bacon, Lettuce, and Tomato

Kickin' chicken BLT salad, oh my!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States