Taco Salad III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
This was a hit. I roasted the peppers and onions and I let out the dressing and topped it with a little bit of nacho cheese. It was quite well received.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
I love this recipe! This was the best taco salad recipe I could find that didn't kill it with dressing and doritos!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsByrd

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
This taco salad was fantastic! Simple, every-day ingredients so it made it real easy to make. I loved the Catalina dressing on the salad, and I think that is what sets this taco salad apart from many others because of the unique taste. Some people said that they thought the Catalina was a bit off for a taco salad, but that is the key ingredient in making it different than your typical taco salad. Will definitely make again. AND my son ate his whole plate - WOW!! Thanks for the wonderful recipe, Melanie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
Excellent! Add avacados and green onions for extra flavor. YUM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
Made this for the family tonite and it got rave reviews even from my 7yr old who is a picky eater. Added sour cream on top for even a bigger yum factor. This is quick and easy to make plus it is delicious!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fivestarchef

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
I left out the red onion, and used one large can of Bush's chili beans, green leaf lettuce, and Fritos Scoops. While the Scoops held up very well, the green leaf lettuce wilted a lot more than I think the iceberg would have. It was very good, but the leftovers weren't worth saving. I will make it again, but will serve the lettuce separately next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2010
Family-approved, but I only add 1 can of beans (kidney), and about 4 oz of catalina.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by atla

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lawrenceburg, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Mchenry, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
Oh how I've missed you, recipe! I think this was first popular in the 60's? I had actually forgotten about it (and lost the recipe) until a friend asked me if I had that taco salad recipe my g'ma used to make, so I went looking. I followed the recipe with the exception of leaving out the avacado and green onions only because I completely forgot to pick them up from the store, and YES, that bummed me pretty bad. Like many, I combined everything but the lettuce and dressing, since I cook for just me and knew there would be many portions. It only lacked a bit of "bite" so I did add some Louisiana Hot Sauce at the end. Thanks for the memories!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mimosa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Texarkana, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
Made it, loved it. We like chopped black olives, will add that next time. Will use less dressing next time. Had leftovers. Will have bowl of lettuce separate from bean, meat, onion, dressing, etc. mixture. Serve Fritos on the side so they don't get soggy. Teens say it is all mixed at grad parties, goes quickly! My daughter likes hers with sour cream and taco sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2010
This is a great, basic Taco Salad! Big suggestion though -leave out the dressing! It's delicious served with your favorite Salsa, some sour cream, and avocado or fresh made guacamole. The flavors come to life and it cuts out extra fat and sugar that comes in the salad dressing. Refried beans are a great replacement for the whole beans too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 139) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Taco Salad I

See how to make a delicious taco salad with a twist.

Taco Soup II

A flavorful taco soup with ground beef, taco seasoning, beans, and green chiles.

Chicken Salad with Bacon, Lettuce, and Tomato

Kickin' chicken BLT salad, oh my!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States