Taco Salad III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
I don't use the Catalina dressing. I mix 8 ounces of sour cream with 8 ounces of taco sauce and mix it well into the remaining ingredients. Haven't had a complaint yet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
All time family favorite! My family has enjoyed this salad for 30 years. The key here is to use CATALINA dressing. We always use the kraft LIGHT Catalina. Also, try with Nacho Cheese Doritos for the chips. this is so fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Connie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Logan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
why does this recipe has so much fat in it? did not like this at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
This version of a taco salad was super tasty. I love the Catalina dressing- it is the first time I tried it on a taco salad- and it really really worked! I have made this with chicken, ground turkey, and ground beef. I usually add more veggies also- such as carrots, bellpepper, mixture of lettuces (spinach, green leaf), lots more avocado, etc. I also used less cheese, and added a small dollop of sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Corvallis, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
Really really good, I used only kidney beans, Doritos instead of corn chips, & just about 1/2 cup (4 ounces) of Catalina dressing, I tried another recipe in the past that used a whole bottle of Catalina and it was WAY too sweet. Nice to be able to add beans to a dish and still have everyone enjoy it. Thanks for posting the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris S

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2011
This was absolutely delicious and the whole family devoured it. Perfect summertime meal -- will definitely make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
We all know we need to watch what we eat and not be a slave to the fast food nation, right? But sometimes, just sometimes, that craving hits and you've just gotta indulge. This satisfies the craving without the guilt. For this recipe, I use lean ground turkey seasoned with Bill Echols' fabulous Taco Seasoning I, baked tortilla chips and hot salsa for the dressing. Makes HUGE salads, too, so it definitely satiates big appetites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicolette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
Great recipe! You definitely don't need to use the entire 16 oz bottle of catalina dressing. I had the 8 oz bottle and that was plenty, otherwise it's too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2011
i love it!!! but you have the time its so much better with home made chips!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by *Sherri*
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2011
Who doesn't like a taco salad. I only used one can of pinto beans and left out the kidney beans since it was just the two of us. We didn't use any dressing just topped with some light sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 137) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Taco Salad I

See how to make a delicious taco salad with a twist.

Taco Soup II

A flavorful taco soup with ground beef, taco seasoning, beans, and green chiles.

Chicken Salad with Bacon, Lettuce, and Tomato

Kickin' chicken BLT salad, oh my!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States